A Tap on the shoulder – The magic of Orlando

In the heart of Florida’s vibrant landscape, a magical park lives, the happiest place in the world. Walt Disney World. The ideal place for a conference. Especially for over six hundred human resources managers. Let the fun begin!

My level of anticipation was at its max. Months before the conference, I was submerged in work. I haven’t had time to write as much as I would like to be, but I squeezed in an hour here and there on days off, enough to maintain my connection to the story I am working on. To be consistent with my intentions as a writer who happens to be a human resources manager for a hospitality corporation. I use to be based out of a hotel, solely focusing on the hotel and the associates within the four walls of that hotel. I loved it and then there was an opportunity to join the Canadian regional office where I would be responsible for associates who worked remotely all over the country, and a few more associates than I was use to. I took the opportunity because I said yes to where I am going. Where am I going this time? I’m not sure. I’m riding the wave and trusting the universe. 

There has not been a conference for the US and Canada HR team for over five years. They have a conference every two years, and that fell in 2020. We all know what happened there. This was my first HR conference with the company and I heard about the planning and what to possibility expect. I was more worried about what to wear and how I would fit four days of clothes plus workout gear in the carry-on bag.

Arriving at the Walt Disney World Dolphin Hotel was like my first time seeing the Chateau Lake Louise over twenty-five years ago. In awe. This fifty-year-old hotel and resort is spectacular. It was like walking into a Las Vegas hotel but Disney-style. Mikey was not greeting anyone, but the feel of Mr. Disney, who envisioned a magical place for people, was felt.

On registration day, people streamed into the conference center, everyone carrying their own hopes and expertise. The air was buzzing with excitement. As I walked alongside my colleagues, I witnessed hugs and huge smiles of relief. People who hadn’t seen each other in person for so long expressed their joy and anticipation of the next few days together.

Each day was filled with breakout sessions and workshops on inspirational topics. From new technology, and leadership strategies to creative endeavors. I soaked up as much knowledge as I could and was eager to gain insights that would help me become a better HR leader.

The main fun event was heading to Epcot to see the nightly fireworks show. We had a private viewing section as part of the conference. Disney knows how to put on a show. I am getting goosebumps thinking about the beautiful explosions of fireworks mixed with the right music and messaging. After the fireworks, we had the privilege of experiencing two of the rides they left open for our group. I was filled with overwhelming feelings of joy and excitement. I was twelve years old again, heading to Disney for the first time. It was fresh in my mind how I felt witnessing such creativity when I was twelve, again when I turned forty and we went to Universal, Magic, and Animal Kingdom. Walt Disney said he made movies to make more movies. He needed to make movies to make money to make more and better movies. Phish, the band, also said the same thing: they put on live music shows to get better equipment to have better shows. I’ve carried that idea for a long time and when I was standing in the Dolphin Hotel, I saw a picture at the entrance where some renovations are taking place. Another quote from Walt Disney that I am putting up on my wall;

  

As the conference ended, people were leaving with renewed energy, and conversations of shared purpose and possibilities we have and continue as we stay connected virtually.

There were several takeaways for me from the conference, but I have to be honest. This was exactly what I needed. The universe provides the space and the taps on the shoulders to pay attention to where I was. To understand that it is time to stop talking and begin doing.

Thank you for stopping by today. Have you been tapped on the shoulder to pay attention to what was needed? Have you asked for a sign and received it? I would love to hear from you.

Until next time, keep on typing…

Leave a comment