A is for apathy

ap·a·thy noun

  1. lack of interest, enthusiasm, or concern.

I said I would not participate in the April A to Z Blogging Challenge, and I am committed to my intention. Why did I choose to share this title and the word’ apathy? It’s how I feel these days towards many things, except for my writing life. And when I say how I feel about many things, I should clarify. There has been some turmoil occurring within the NaNoWriMo organization and I have no interest in the drama. This is the universe saying, ‘Remember when you said you didn’t want to be part of any drama? Don’t get sucked in, the ego will trip you up.” I remember this very well. When I started reading Julia Cameron’s, The Artist’s Way, I was on the path of learning how to get off the drama train, and then stopped drama altogether in my life. There are times I can be perceived as not caring, but it’s my way of protecting my writing life and my energy. Drama is good on the page, not in life.

I will share this brief story with you because I watched myself not caring about what others had to say about the situation, and how I only wanted to share, ‘Isn’t this supposed about the writing?’

Photo by Polina Tankilevitch on Pexels.com

I have been a part of NaNoWriMo since 2012. I loved the idea of writing a novel in November, this challenge has helped me write more. I have flushed out my debut memoir and had fun with other projects over the years. I enjoy the challenge of writing 50,000 words in November that may or may not resemble a novel. The practice of writing every day and having that word count goal meant something to me, and it still does.

A few years ago, I took the plunge to become a co-municipal liaison in Fredericton. I became a co-ML and was happy to meet other writers in the area. Why? Because my goal is to help writers write. Also, to meet other writers in Fredericton. We just moved back to Atlantic Canada, and I was missing my life in BC, and I was missing my writing life more. I was use to being part of a writers’ group in Victoria, where we supported one another. I love getting together with other writers and writing. It keeps me accountable and I love to connect with like-minded people. It is that simple for me. Like-minded people get together doing what they love, creating, sharing, and being in the flow of the writing.

In 2023, there was some controversy and now the organization has been under the microscope and going through some restructuring. I had no interest in any of the drama, and the MLs in New Brunswick looped me in on certain details, but that information had no impact on me. I had and have zero interest in the organization’s drama. All I want to do is write and support writers. Yet, somewhere I let my guard down and the ego latched onto this feeling of apathy and sunk its talons into my shoulders and was not letting go. I don’t care about this writing organization any longer. I was sitting on the fence to see if anything may change with the new rules of being a volunteer (asking for a full criminal check, involving us scanning our IDs to the third-party criminal check company, yes, for a writing group). I wrote the new volunteer coordinator and even though I completed my volunteer renewal as a “maybe”. They removed me as an ML with no explanation. So, this helped the infused apathy ego to let go, because there is nothing for me to do. I can walk away from the volunteer portion of NaNoWriMo, but it has left me questioning. Will take part in the November writing challenge? There is such a sizeable community of writers who participate. It’s global and I’ve connected with other writers from all over the world. That is a positive about this organization. So, do I ping the morsels of indifference that linger around, and stay connected with the great people I’ve met, and let the organization figure their drama out? I think so. Because it comes down to the writing. Just writing, no politics, no boards, no drama, unless it’s in a story being written. Maybe someone will write about this little organization that got a little too big and lost their way for blimp in time and it has caused a lot of unnecessary grief for people who should be writing. With that, I am sharing my gratitude for the universe, sharing that I should just be writing, and not thinking or worrying about what is happening outside of my control.

Thank you for taking the time to stop and read my blog today. Have you experienced being part of a non-profit organization that has hit some turbulence and got caught up in the drama? Did it take you away from your writing? Did you walk away or stick it out? I would love to hear from you.

Until Next Time, Keep on Typing

Leave a comment