P is for Pumpkin Seeds

Pumpkin seeds are editable seeds from the pumpkin squash. They are usually green in color, oval in shape and have a nutty flavor. They may be small but they are packed full of valuable nutrients.

Recently I took a zinc test and learned I my body was low in zinc. I asked what I could eat to help increase my zinc level. Pumpkin seeds the practitioner told me. Really? I had no idea. I knew pumpkin seeds were good for digestion but I didn’t know the other great benefits of the little seed.

Pumpkins seeds are:

  • High in Magnesium
  • May improve heart health
  • Can lower blood sugar levels
  • High in Fiber
  • May improve sleep quality

The bottom line is the pumpkin seed may be small but it sure does have big value to our health. As you know, I love to bake and cook. I use pumpkin seeds in many of our meals. I throw a handful in my smoothies in the morning, a handful in a couscous salad and a whole bunch in a breakfast cookie I love to make. Thank you, Healthline for all your great information on the pumpkin seed.

My Breakfast Cookie Recipe ~ What You Need & The How-To
  • 2 cups of oats
  • 1 cup of all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup of melted butter
  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 Tbsp of baking soda
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extra
  • a dash of salt (I give the salt shaker one or two small shakes into the mixture)
  • 1 cup of dried cranberries or cherries or blueberries (whatever suits your fancy at the time)
  • 1 cup of pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup of chopped dates
  • 1/2 of chopped almonds or another nut – totally optional

Pre-heat the over to 350 degrees. Place a piece of parchment paper on a cookie sheet.

Mix all the wet ingredients together first (eggs, butter, and vanilla). I mix the sugar and baking soda in next then everything else in the bowl and mix well together.

I use a large soup spoon to measure the cookies out, about six cookies per tray, the batter expands and makes nice big cookies so you only need one. Genius!

Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown around the edges. Let cool on the tray for a minute or two, transfer to a cooling rack while you continue to get those cookies in the oven.

If you try out my recipe please let me know how it goes. What dried fried did you use? Did you add any ingredients? I would love to hear from you. Thank you for stopping by.

Until Tomorrow, Keep on Typing…

3 thoughts on “P is for Pumpkin Seeds

Leave a comment