Write Like the Deadline is Tomorow

It’s Sunday morning and I’m starting this post a little later than I tend to. I aim to write most of my posts on Friday mornings when I work in the afternoon at the hotel. This week I was distracted with other activities, like grocery shopping so I don’t have to do it on my days off. The less I have to do on my days off equals more time writing.

I have been thinking about what to write about this week. It’s been a busy week at the hotel life. After being off for a week it took a day or two to catch up. Throw in all the other everyday hotel activities, in a blink of an eye, the week is over. Throughout the week my thoughts have always been to what I would write about. Should I start with my commitment that I shared a few weeks ago? The one that I would start sharing my latest work in progress about my hotel life? Should I share more insights from the memoir reference book I’m currently obsessed with? Should I share how frustrated I am that I didn’t write beyond my morning pages this week? So many options, so many words to get on the page. The most important thing is that I am here now.

My friend and award-winning author, Jacqui Nelson, and I were talking over coffee before we started to write, she said, ‘write like the deadline is tomorrow’ ~ What a great quote! I’m going to write this on my current vision board in bold letters. I love this motivational sentiment, there is no fooling around when it comes to writing. Somewhere, someone else is working hard to learn more about their art and becoming better with every word. Time to get writing!

Writing the Memoir by Judith Barrington haunts my thoughts. Yes, I use the word haunt because what she shares with us are the very details of why I am called to write. I am of service and creativity has chosen to work with me, I better damn well be giving back as much as creativity has given me.

It is not the obvious landmarks of a lie that hold the passionate moments, the transformations, and the painful growth: those lie within incidents and relationships that are unique to each of us. Find that haunting story that has nothing to do with what looks like one of life’s “big moments.” Use your notebook to search diligently among your lifelong preoccupations. (Judith provides exercises to get us thinking about our memories)

I scribble in my notebook about the events that linger in my mind. Most of the stories are from my hotel life. Like I shared before, I am here to be of service and working in a hotel fills a part of my desire to help people. The events of working in a hotel are one part of my lingering thoughts. Other circumstances, like being kicked out of the kitchen for asking a question during a dinner rush are the other stories that show up from time to time. These memories remind me where I once was and how I survived what I once thought was odd behavior, but became very normal morals over the years. These are the stories that I am excited and a bit anxious to share.

I am preoccupied with the occasions of my hotel life because I never saw myself working in the hotel industry for over twenty years. The hospitality world has provided and continues to do so, what is needed to maintain and excel this creative life that is fully intended.

Thank you for sticking around with me during this post. I kinda feel that I am all over the place and that happens to me when I haven’t written for days. I need to sit down and start writing to get settled. So now, let’s get to it and WRITE LIKE THE DEADLINE IS TOMORROW.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

 

6 thoughts on “Write Like the Deadline is Tomorow

  1. A super post. It’s so easy to become overwhelmed with life’s distractions – like dealing with the transition from a holiday to the work life. It’s a lot of work to re-engage with your job. Especially when writing can be a job as well. Glad that you have the creative juices churning!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jodie. By the middle of the week I was back into the hotel life and writing was on the curb – that is something I will changing. Writing can never be on the curb, unless one of my characters needs to be there for some reason, haha. THhe creative process is a grand journey!

      Like

  2. That is a great quote. It’s certainly something I need to put into practice with my writing. I’ve been putting off writing stories for a collection I’m considering posting on my blog. I’m on the fence about it because I haven’t really thought about the stories I want to write. To be honest, I’ve lost the heart to tell the stories because there are so many things to consider with them. But I need to sit down and write them anyway. I can’t wait for inspiration any longer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

