Change Is In The Air

How do you switch gears on your writing life when you have been focused on a certain path then after one innocent and honest conversation, your focus takes a slight turn but for the good. I’m not sure if there is any way to avoid the changes in my writing and I’ll embrace the transformation. My life has been about redirections and I’m excited to see what will unfold.

What changes am I talking about? Maybe it’s not about change, more like an improvement on what I am currently doing.  I’ve been avoiding the revisions on my current work in progress, why? I’m tired of looking at them that’s why. That’s the honest truth. It is exhausting to look at the third round draft and only to find it needs another over haul to make any sense. My ego is screaming, damn it! Okay, so is my creative self only because she wants to be working on other ideas that are rolling in like a tsunami. I am very aware of the fact that we live in a universe of limitless possibilities. I believe anything is possible. I have this notion that I have already written and published several novels, plays, screenplays, TV shows, you name it, I’ve written it. The feeling or knowing is that I’m catching up to what is already there, but I’m right here trying to figure out how the hell I’m going to get there. Have you ever felt this?

So often, we pretend we’ve made a decision when what we’ve really done is signed up to try until it gets too uncomfortable. ~ Jen Sincero

Hello! When I first read this side note I was nodding my head in agreement with great intent and whispering out loud, yes, yes, I have done this. I’m not pretending to be a writer, I am a writer who happens to choose to work a more than a full-time job in a field that strangely enough I enjoy. However, to be honest I may be day dreaming about my writing life and what I should be doing to further my creative life. I know that someone else out there who is passionate about writing is surely spending more time on their craft than I am and that scares the hell out of me. This is why I have to switch my focus and get on track and get to my revisions. I have to embrace the edits that are part of the writing process. So without further adieu, I am off to dive deep to the improvements.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

2 thoughts on “Change Is In The Air

  1. First off, good luck with your revisions. Second, I feel the same way. In my mind, I think about all the accolades I will receive with my works. But that’s not going to happen unless I start submitting my work. And even then, I might not receive those accolades. I will be rejected numerous times before even one piece is worthy enough to be published. But that’s what needs to happen in order to be the best writer I envision.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

