One Writer Working Through some Life Questions

How many times can you push your snooze button or ignore the one thing that you value the most important to you? How many times will I tell myself enough is enough? Enough of the procrastination! Creativity does not deserve this kind of treatment and either do I. (Insert stomping of foot here)

The past week I’ve been thinking about those first few questions in Katharine Grubb’s, When the Timer Dings. I wanted to honestly answer them.

  • Do you see a separation between what’s most important to you and what you’re actually doing with your time?
  • Are you satisfied with your productivity on a daily basis?
  • Do you think that the things you are getting done are really the things that you value or not?

Did I mention these are not the easiest question to ask yourself when you know the answers and don’t want to face the truth. Okay, so let’s get to it.

Do you see a separation between what’s most important to you and what you’re actually doing with your time? Hell Yes! Let’s take writing this blog for a moment. I typed out the question for the second time and I instantly thought how I should go to my 365 writing club tracking sheet to post my daily word count. Ding-ding! Writing this blog, writing all together is the most important thing to me and what do I end up doing instead? Head to another side project just because I think about it, which leads into the next question:

Are you satisfied with your productivity on a daily basis? Hell no! I was driving on Friday afternoon when I started to feel down right bad about how I didn’t do any writing before work when I normally start a blog or at least look and fiddle with my work in progress. I did nothing. I got up, went to the gym, came home, showered went for groceries, came home, meditated, made my dinner and went to work. I filled my day with puttering away, avoiding the one thing that I crave to do, except I completely ignored it on another level than I’m use to and that’s not a good thing. The only positive realization was that I am aware I’m ignoring my passion but what I can’t ignore is how I feel when I am right here on the page. At peace. Why in the hell would I want to not be here all the time? Good question.

The last question: Do you think that the things you are getting done are really the things that you value or not? No.                                                                                       The things that I’m getting done are definitely auto pilot items, doing laundry, cleaning the house, yes they have value, we need clean clothes and the house needs to be in order – if the house is in order then there is no way the ego can say, ‘oh maybe you should wash the windows before you get started on the work in progress, maybe clean the bathroom before you start that blog… ‘It’s good to be aware of the ego and the little games it tries to play to redirect the attention to the things that really don’t matter.

The important things like writing a blog post for Monday Blogs is of value for me and I want to write it in a timely fashion. It’s funny to me that I was so organized during the April, A to Z blog challenge and was able to write five blogs in a few days to be ready, scheduled to post each day and now I struggle to even get one blog post written for Monday morning. I want to say yes to the fact that I’m satisfied of my productivity. This is me moving forward with my commitment to creativity, to my true self.

 

If you have time, sit with the same questions to see if you have areas in your life that you need a little tweaking. I know I’ll be reviewing the questions again as I move forward.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

Leave a Reply

