Practicing Creativity

We are in the middle of a move, well more than in the middle. We are moving next Sunday, May 28th to a new place in Oak Bay, Victoria, BC. I am sad to be leaving our current home, it’s in the heart of a unique area called Cook Street Village, an 8 minute walk to the Ocean. It is quiet, peaceful and down right fantastic for what my husband and I needed in this moment. My husband actually found our current home, he has this great talent to find what we both need with ease. It’s one of the many great things I love about him.

Our goals have shifted and our move came at the perfect time, like every manifestation, you have to be ready to receive once you put it out there to the universe that you are looking for a change and you provide some guidelines. You may not get what you first put out there, but you will get what you need.

During this transition I feel a bit in limbo. I’m not writing as much as I intended to and I feel the effects. I’m a bit more snappy with people when normally I’m pretty calm and like a duck let the water roll off my back. Somewhere the ego wiggled its way in as I have put creativity on the side lines for a brief moment; Seriously only a day or two I haven’t been with my writing as much as I usually am and bam, the ego finds its way in and I am reminded everything happens for a reason. I look around my writing room and notice the books that I have left out for comfort as we pack up our home. I pick up Natalie Goldberg’s, Writing Down the Bones and flip through and stop at a page that I have underlined and probably have used in a previous blog post.

Writing as a Practice; Like running, the more you do it, the better you get at it. You practice whether you want to or not. You don’t wait around for inspiration and a deep desire to run. It’ll never happens, especially if you are out of shape and have been avoiding it. But if you run regularly, you train your mind to cut through or ignore your resistance. You just do it. That’s how writing is, too. Once you’re deep into it, you wonder what took you so long to finally settle down at the desk. Through practice you actually do get better. You learn your deep self more and not give in to your voice that wants to avoid writing. 

Thank you Natalie. I needed that reminder. Not that I don’t know this very concept of practicing your craft to enhance your skill levels. I am also a runner and when I was training for my first marathon there was training, essentially a lot of practice that made it easier each day to get one more kilometer in than the day before. When I sit down to write my true self and the practice of being here on the pages takes over. I am the vessel of creativity to share a story.

I am the only one who can change my habits and I am aware that the practice of writing every day, beyond my morning pages, is essential to the craft, to creativity. Do you have a daily practice of writing? How do you get yourself to the page each day? Is it for ten minutes, a half hour, or half a day? Today, I’m writing for the morning and then spending time with my husband, it is the Victoria Day, long weekend, the sun is out and it’s a perfect time to take my artists on an artist date.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

4 thoughts on “Practicing Creativity

  1. I’m so happy for both of you. So pleased that you have a new place to live in a tough housing market. Well done!

    Being ‘in-between’ in terms of a living space can be hard. You haven’t yet said goodbye to the old, and embraced the new.

    Time to examine aspects of Feng Shui and ensure that you’ve cleansed your new home. Have a grand time creating new vibrations. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jodie – I’m excited to play with Feng Shui in our new place – either of us can’t remember what the new place looks like, so it’s really going to be exciting when we get there. I love an adventure!

      Like

  2. I don’t have a set method of practicing my writing. I’ll write whenever there’s opportunity. When I’m at my full-time job, I’ll write during my 15-minute breaks. Maybe on my lunch break, too. Every day is different.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think if we just get to the page that is half the battle – some morning before I head to my full time job, I squeeze in 5 minutes – when the moment strikes I take it, or I tend to feel a bit of regret of not paying attention to the creativity. You are so right when you say every day is different – I’m so grateful to get to the page that I’m happy if it’s only for those 5 minutes or moments in-between.
      Thank you again for stopping by – happy writing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

