S is for Stress

I’ve been sick for the past week and haven’t gotten to the letter S yet. It’s 10:20pm on Friday night and I just got home from work. I’m at the tail end of my cold and honestly I’m not really up to do much as I have to work tomorrow morning. Wow, do I ever sound like that person who has a huge file drawer of excuses.

I was going to write about stress, it seems fitting as I’m feeling a bit stressed to write this last letter for the week as my husbands and his friends are sitting around drinking beer, chattering about their day and I want to join in. No, I’m committed to this blogging challenge and I’m here to write.

What does stress mean?

Stress is your body’s way of responding to any kind of demand or threat. When you sense danger—whether it’s real or imagined—the body’s defenses kick into high gear in a rapid, automatic process known as the “fight-or-flight” reaction, or the stress response.

I don’t really have a lot of physical stress. I have more mental stress which I am able to manage about 97% of the time. I’m human so there are moments that I do feel stressed, not being able to think clearly, moments of panic and feeling down right awful. When I first started serving that might have been the first time I experienced stress of being in the weeds; basically, being “in the weeds” means you’re so far behind that you’re having trouble seeing a way to not being completely fubared. It can be stressful trying to get yourself out of a situation that you possibly have put yourself in, but that’s another story.

Stress can take on many forms in many different ways for different people. I used to feel the pressures of work when serving large tour groups of up to forty people. The same appetizer, entrée and desert to everyone, the same white or red boxed house wine that we would line up each tour. We use to call it Frisbee service. It sounds easy but it can be stressful because it wasn’t only one group of forty, there were two at the same time and knowing that we had another two groups in another two hours. I learned time management quickly at an early age, but it doesn’t matter how prepared you are, if the guests eat slowly or want to drink more or it takes time to clean up then you are feeling the stress of getting the guests out the door for the next round of tours.

Needless to say after a year of this revolving service I came to learn the patterns of people, the kitchen and myself. Then I was able to manage my smaller a la carte tables, I had a dance with my tables, everyone was involved and we would all have a very nice time. No one waited for an inappropriate time and from my McDonald’s training, I was always smiling even though I may have been chopping at the bit because I thought I didn’t have things under control. It’s all part of the dance.

Now, I am able to handle stress much better as a result of my time being in the weeds. As I finish this post I feel a lot better than I did when I first started.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

 

4 thoughts on “S is for Stress

  1. Pretty thorough post for being tired and sick! In general, I think I manage stress pretty well, save the occasional outburst when I’m pushed to the limit. My husband on the other hand. Let’s say he does NOT handle stress well, which is really a necessary life skill, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the comments – I think I was more focused as I was thinking ‘oaky, I’m not feeling great so make sure you pay attention’ maybe I should follow this thought as I move forward with my next posts (as I laugh out loud). Managing stress is one step at a time, I think we know what we can and cannot handle and it’s up to us to find the best way to manage those moments and learn as we grow 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve had more stress, both physical and mental this first quarter of the year than I do most years. How does one root canal a week for a month after a month of the flu sound, topped off with four crowns beginning a week after the root canals are finished? As soon as I finished that I had to start in on taxes. In the midst of that Hubby got stressed out, had chest pain, and we had to spend hours getting him checked out at the ER. Fortunately, he was OK, but we got further behind on taxes. I’m finally coming up for air, and I’m starting a massive decluttering project. I’m so glad I didn’t sign up for the A-Z challenge this year.

    I hope you are feeling better by the time you read this and will soon finish this challenge. That will remove some stress.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by and sharing. I hope that you and your husband are doing well. Decluttering is a great way to let things go and remove any blocked energy lingering around.
      I’m at the tail end of the cold and the last week of the A to Z challenge. Once I start writing the stress goes away – writing help, writing heals 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

