K is for Knowing

In the hotel life there is a sense of knowing your guests, but there is also a sense of knowing you are meant to be in this crazy hotel world by some grand scheme the universe has in store for you. I’m still not sure how much I am able to share of my hotel life, but I’m willing to give it a shot, just like I’m as eager to sit here and write and share the stories that have been whispered to me.

When I was younger I had this deep sense of knowing that I was to be of service. I was always helping my mother (not only because she told me to), and when I visited my grandparents I wanted to help them in the kitchen, bake pies with my grandmother because I loved watching people enjoy the delicious blueberry pies she seemed to know how to make from memory. She seemed to be joyful when she was serving others, she felt purposeful and wanted to make sure everyone was taken care of. I too wanted to make people smile when I helped them. When I told stories I would get a similar sense of enjoyment from family and I was as delighted as my Grandmother Berry with her baking pies.

When I first started as a busser in the Canadian Rockies I was trained on what to do; pour water when the guests sat down, bring the buns and butter after the server took their drink order, bus the table when the guests were finished their appetizer, entrée and dessert, tell the server if the guest told me they wanted more wine, or whatever else they needed to have an exceptional dining experience. Then clean and reset the table for the next guests to repeat the same service. Yet there was more to it, I knew what I had to do to make the servers happy to make the guests happy. There were many levels of guest service and I was part of the experience. There was a dance that I had to learn with the servers and once I understood the steps I was rewarded with a bigger tip and a fast track to becoming a server in one of the most Luxury Hotel & Resorts dining rooms. But more on that later.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

Leave a Reply

