H is for Hotel Life

As I as thinking of what to write about for the letter H, I was sitting in my car on my way home from work and like most of the ideas of what to write about, appeared very clearly. Hotel life. Then I wondered if I could maintain the theme of my hotel life for rest of the A to Z challenge? Why not? I will certainly try.

The Hotel life is something I haven’t shared about too much. A part of me wants to keep that part of my life separate from my writing life, however, they are one. The hospitality business has provided me with some pretty amazing opportunities and experiences that I am so grateful for. It has provided me with many stories to write (which are currently on note cards waiting to be written). The ideas and story lines come from a simple conversation with a guest or colleague. Some ideas pop into my head while I’ve worked on a buffet, replenishing scrambled eggs for another tor of fifty to heard through or sitting in the staff pub having a few pint with friends to blow off steam from a busy night in the dinner room or a busy check in at the front desk and dealing with angry guests who have nothing better to do but blame you for their poor choices.

The Hotel life moved me from Nova Scotia to Alberta and now Vancouver Island, I have seen and done some pretty incredible things and some not so amazing moments. I have lived in the Canadian Rockies working for Canadian Pacific and now re-branded Fairmont Hotels & Resorts.  have worked for Relais & Chateau Resorts and Best Western in Tofino, BC, then I left the corporate hotel world to independently owned and operated hotels that have pushed me even further in my personal and professional growth.

The main theme of every hotel I’ve worked at and every hotel is the same. Hospitality: the friendly and generous reception and entertainment of guests, visitors, or strangers.

Being in customer service is hard work. You have to have your light switch always on to provide great service to people all the time. If you have a bad day at home you can’t bring that fight you had with our spouse, family or dog, it has to stay in the back while you smile and be friendly to the guests in front of you. Being part of a guests great experience is rewarding and fulfilling as any job that you enjoy. Like anything, the Hotel life has its ups and downs and I wouldn’t be where I am if I didn’t accept the job offer that one day to work in my first hotel and resort.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

4 thoughts on “H is for Hotel Life

  1. I enjoyed your review of your time spent working in hotels. And I’m sure that whole concept of being constantly ‘on’ and ‘invitational’ can be exhausting. But the advantages are great too. Thanks for your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

