F is for the F-bomb

Words are powerful.

The f-bomb for those who may not be aware is using the f&% word randomly on a frequent basis, maybe because they can’t find another word to express the feeling, it can be a filler word, or it’s a habit from hearing it so often in society, movies, TV shows. I will be the first to admit that I use the f-bomb and not that this is an excuse, I am a Navy brat, I grew up around sailors and living on a Navy Base doesn’t help the cause, it’s bound to happen but again, no excuses.

When I was in junior high , my friends and I used the f-word like it was going out of style; hurry-up-and-use-it-before-it-goes-away type of hurriness. Then after a while, one of my friends said they didn’t want to hang out with me anymore because I swore to much. Ouch! I cried because my friend was the one who encouraged our filthy language, she made it out like it was our little secretly, see how long we can get away with it type of manipulation. A week later after I stopped myself from using any curse words, what do I hear? The very girl who befriended me for swearing. What the (insert your choice of word here).

Thirty years later I find myself cringing at the filler word and stop myself if I’m amongst friends and have the urge to let the word fly. It’s a habit that I am breaking. I ask myself is this the best version of me? Usually the answer is no and I chose a different work to describe my displeasure. As a writer it’s fun to find new words to slip into the vocabulary. My new word for displeasure; conniption, this makes me smile to let go of what no longer serves me.

Until next time, keep on typing….

 

 

 

 

 

What is your experience with cursing? Have you noticed a shift your language verses others? I would love to hear from you.

2 thoughts on “F is for the F-bomb

  1. I was never a fan of the f-word while growing up, but lots of kids around me used it. Today, I’m a fan of dreaming up creative curse words based on characters’ unique backgrounds, where they came from and what shaped them. Every word is an opportunity and lots of fun 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

