D is for Diving

Diving deeper into your passions can be scary but so exciting and rewarding all at the same time.

When I was younger taking swimming lessons, the Original Canadian Red Cross Water Safety classes with different colored badges, yellow for beginner all the way to white for water sport safety. I loved getting the Water Safety Programme Personal Report Card, well until my instructor said I needed to work on my diving before I could advance to the next level.

Standing on the spring board when you are eight or nine with an instructor telling you to keep the board still is hard. Trying to focus on your hands being over your head to prepare to jump and dive into the water and then thinking how you don’t want the water to go up your nose all at the same time while your mother and everyone else’s parent is watching. Keeping the spring board still while I jump is the last thing on my mind.

Eventually I learned howto dive without the spring board moving and I could quickly dive into the water without a sound. I would practice after swim class and any chance I could get to the pool. I was determined to get my next swim badge and I didn’t want to be scared of what people thought if I didn’t dive perfectly. The swim lessons taught me that practice does help you get better at whatever you are working on.

If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. ~ Stephen King

Much like learning how to dive, I use the same determination to focus on my writing. The more I write the more I get a little better with each word that is set on the page.

Until next time, keep on typing….

 

Leave a Reply

