C is for Crazymakers

I love Julia Cameron’s, The Artist’s Way. I read it for the first time over eight years ago and I have been re-reading it, the book is now dog-eared, passages highlights, sticky notes on the side. It is one of my number one go to inspirational and motivational writing reference books. The first time I read about crazymakers I was shaking my head and saying ‘oh yes, I have a few of those.’                                      What is a crazymaker?

They are people with those personalities that create storm centre’s. They are often charismatic, frequently charming, highly inventive, and powerfully persuasive. And, for the creative person i their vicinity, they are enormously destructive. You know the type: charismatic but out of control, long on problems and short on solutions. Crazymakers are the kind of people who can take over your whole life. To fixer-uppers, they are irresistible: so much to change, so many distractions. . . .

I knew who were my crazymakers in my life and it took some time to walk away from them. I would want to be writing and the people who needed my attention for whatever reason sucked me away from the page that I was ready to fill with stories to share. I only had myself to blame on the choices I made, therefore it came to a point where I said, enough is enough and writing comes first, my friends will understand and my friends did understand. My crazymakers tried to hold on, but I slowly let go and now it feels like a faded memory of how I was bogged down with trying to fix others when I needed to work on me.

I want to thank my dear friend Christine Goyer-Swift for leaving me a copy of The Artist’s Way that one night during meditation. I left the sanctuary early and there on the bench was her copy of the book with a sticky note that shared I might like the book. We met people for a reason and I’m so grateful for a thoughtful moment that has flourished into a great journey.

Until next time, keep on typing….

One thought on “C is for Crazymakers

Leave a Reply

