Friends & Writing

Spending time with other writers is a great way to get inspired. My good friend and award-winning author Jacqui Nelson organized a few fellow writers together for a writing/marketing/goal rally over the weekend and like everything that is meant to be this little gathering was exactly what I needed to commit to the goals that we were asked to share with the group. To take this commitment further, I will share my goals with you:

  • Finish final draft of my current work in progress (One of a three book series of a hotel memoir) by April and send to editor for a copy-edit.
  • Start writing book two and three – I have several notes that need to be organized and put together.
    Book two first draft to be completed by May/June
  • Send query letters to a few publishers to see if there is an interest in the hotel book series.
  • Start working on some book covers. Along with blurbs, front and back, tag lines, all that fun stuff.
  • Start the self publishing train for my memoir about my family.
  • Continue writing one to two blog posts a week. – maybe focus blog posts on hotel series to start promoting.

When we share what we were brought here to give, we are in alignment with our highest, most powerful selves. ~ Jen Sincero

My list of goals are very attainable and the key to my success is focus and actually taking the steps to get to the page and write. I also will ask for help when I feel like I am drowning in my own watery pool of self-pity of “thinking” too much. I am aware that the ego tries to slip in to whisper, hey you, you can’t do this, who do you think you are trying to write and self publish? There are a millions books out there why are you special? I say, because I am that Special and Unique! I have been chosen to tell a story and it’s meant to be shared! Move over ego, the authentic self is here to stay.

                               From left to right: Me, Jodie, Sharron & Jacqui

Jodie Esch our lovely host for the day and talented author is going to join me on writing a weekly blog for Twitters #Monday Blogs As we have shared in our like-minded group we have connected to support one another. This sense of community brings joy to me, I feel connected to my creativity and even more so when we connect as a group and uplift one another where ever we are in our creative path.

What are you writing goals? Have you committed to them? Please share with us, I’ll be happy to help any way I can. Just know that I am here cheering you on.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

7 thoughts on “Friends & Writing

  1. Loved your post. Being together this weekend forced me to examine, (kicking and obsessing and pushing back) as you might have noticed, to jump into the marketing fray again. But this time, with more vigour, knowing that I have a mini-community behind me. You can reach your goals. I read that you can write or print them out, and stick them by a mirror or in other places around your home, so that they are a reminder of what you plan to do. See if it works for you, or maybe that will just make you feel edgy, if you’re not able to get to your work that day.
    Thank you to Jacqui Nelson and Sheila Currie as well. All of you inspire me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have post it notes with goals and quotes all over my writing room, bathroom and kitchen – it helps me face my goals on daily bass.
      Sharing my goals out-loud and now sharing them via my blog, I’m 100% more committed, this takes my writing life to the next level. Love it!

      Like

  2. I have daily and weekly writing and marketing goals written on my whiteboard. And of course, the printed on paper goals for the year that we shared at our get together. I find useful the S.M.A.R.T method for making goals (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, time-based/trackable). Looking forward to watching you achieve and exceed your goals, Marion Ann 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

