Recipes for writing ~ another type of writing prompt

cookbook

It’s fun and exciting finding random topics to write about these days. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll be back with my adventures of diving in deeper into creativity. These days I’m witnessing how much time I’m spending away from the page and thinking about how I can get back to this place as fast as I can. Sitting down and putting my fingers on the keyborad is the first step. Then I keep on tapping words onto the page, something is bound to happen.

prompt

 

For now I’m drawn to this writing prompt page, there is a reason, it’s only a matter of writing to find out. As I scrolled through the list of writing prompts, I stumbled across another passion of mine. Cooking.

Recipe: Write about a favorite recipe, or create a poem that is a recipe for something abstract, such as a feeling.

Are you ready? Do you want to set the timer? Maybe a sprint writing session is in order to get the creative juices flowing. I’m feeling a bit edgy and need to let go. Why I chose this writing prompt? I love to cook, I love to prepare food for people, I put my love into the food, I am just being right there in the moment. Cooking is another form of creativity and much like writing, once I pick up the knife to smash garlic before I mince it, I am an artists to reckon with.

plant

Lately, my partner and I have been eating planet based meals, mostly for dinners and I usually make a planet based meal for the one night of the week I work a later shift at the hotel. Doing research on vegan/vegetarian meals is pretty easy these days. I found a great website that started us off on the right path, along with Oh She Glow’s cook book I was given three years ago at a secret Santa gift exchange at work. Everything happens for a reason.

chop

We are really enjoying the Farro Salad from Planet Based Cooking.com  I have not cooked with Farro before so I stick with the instructions of two cups of water to one cup of Farro, but I did need to add a little more water to help give the Farro a less al-dante texture.

pot

As the Farro is cooking, I chop the red peppers (I also use yellow pepper for flavour and color). I rinse off the kidney beans and let them stand while I prepare the other veggies we like to use. The recipe calls for Swiss Char, sometimes we use spinach, whatever is in season and available. We like to use avocado instead of yellow or green beans, and adding saute mushrooms is always fun. Instead of raw red onion I sprinkle onion powder on the mushrooms as they cook, I also like to use turmeric for a little extra flavour.

The dressing is also pretty simple:

  • 3 Tbl red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tbl fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp curry powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

Once everything is in the bowl, pour the dressing over the salad, mix well and serve. Much like writing there is a process of events to get to the end result. There is something about taking the time to put your loving energy into something that will nourish your body, mind and spirit.

mind

How did your favourite recipe exercise turn out? What is your favourite recipe lately, is there something that triggers your memory or a new story? Cooking brings people together, they talk about food much like they talk about a book, movie or TV series. Creativity is amazing in all forms and mediums.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

cat

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you thinkwritten for these great writing prompts!

Leave a Reply

