Merry Christmas

christmas1

Merry Christmas! This is a time of spending time with loved ones, however the lead up seems to be a bit of a hustle and bustle. Does anyone else feel like the holiday’s are passing by too quickly? People are rushing around trying to find the perfect gift for their loved ones. I did most of my Christmas shopping before December to get in the mail for my family who lives across the country. Now, I have everything for my husband and all gifts that were for secret Santa’s have been exchanged and appreciated. It’s nice to be able to sit down, relax and not be out there with the last-minute shoppers. I use to be one of the procrastinators so I know how it feels and I’d rather be watching Christmas movies, drinking holidays cocktails than out in the crazed energy of Christmas Eve shoppers.

hotel

Working in a downtown busy hotel can make the time fly by if you’re not careful. There is also time lines that we go by, such as when to decorate the holiday for Christmas, start playing holiday music on December first, the hot apple cider fills the lobby air, a great scent to keep us all on our toes. Planning the annual employee cookie exchange (my favorite event by-far!), and what to buy for my secret Santa (you can never go wrong with gift cards to the liquor store or coffee shop). And we can’t forget about the guests who are checking in for the holiday’s.

christmas-love

For me Christmas comes down to being with loved ones and connecting with those who are afar but right here in my heart. Now that I’m off for a few days and spending Christmas Eve and Day with my love makes up for all the whirling around leading up to this joyous day. Celebrating the ones you love and reconnecting with yourself. This post felt a little rushed and I started writing it a few days ago when I was in the middle of trying to make sure everything was perfect for my hotel life when really it was all going to work out the way it was meant to be. I’m reminded that it really is about this very moment, right here and now, on the page.

coffee-love-at-christmas

Now, it’s time to spend some time in the kitchen with my husband who is puttering around making us breakfast. Later this afternoon we will be preparing a traditional East Coast dinner – lobster rolls and all the fixings. We have friends coming over for dinner, it’s all about spending time with friends and family, connecting, sharing, being. I am ever so grateful for this amazing creative life that we are living. Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas!

Until next time, keep on typing . . . .

santa

Leave a Reply

