No Need To Rush

rushing

During NaNoWriMo, there seemed to be this rush to the finish line. To write 50,000 words in 30 days. Even though I was a NaNo rebel and had over 30K words written at the start of the challenge, I still felt this enormous amount of pressure to get to the 50K point as fast as possible. So were hundred of thousands of other people in the global writing challenge. I could feel the energy of everyone racing to the end, it was a great global creative collaboration.

lazy

Now, it’s only a week to Christmas and I’ve been tinkering away on manuscript, probably round one of the draft and having some fun. I don’t feel that pulsating urge of panic that I had during NaNoWriMo, and I’m sure many of did, and maybe many of still do. I feel like I have a new-found energy for my writing goals and they are attainable, not this pie in the sky, oh I’m going to write the best novel ever and have the novel be published just like that.  I am not quitting on my manuscript, I’m giving myself more permission to get to the page as often as possible.

hold

And maybe it’s like that with every important aspect of your life. Whatever it is you are pursuing, whatever it is you are seeking, whatever it is you are creating, be careful not to quit too soon. As my friend Pastor Rob Bell warns: “Don’t rush through the experiences and circumstances that have the most capacity to transform you.” Don’t let go of your courage the moment things stop being easy or rewarding. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert, Big Magic.

stream

When you slow down and let the words flow, that’s when things get interesting. That moment when you let go and creativity transforms you. I am fully aware that creativity has chosen me to work with and I am very dedicated and honored to be working with creativity.

How do you slow down to get to the page? Are you experiencing post NaNoWriMo? I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

fingers

2 thoughts on “No Need To Rush

  1. Post-NaNo hasn’t struck me as hard. There is the urge to write, but I put pressure myself to get more writing done. It’s hindered my passion to write anything substantial. So, I’ve shelved the story I’m writing and am taking time to assess where I am, what I’ve accomplished, and what I want to see happen in the coming year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there are a few of us taking inventory on our stories and what we would like to work on in the New Year. I bought a new planner and have started planning weekly and quarterly goals 🙂
      Wishing you a great holiday and creative New Year!

      Like

Leave a Reply

