I’m a NaNoWriMo Rebel

rebel

NaNo Rebel:
Award yourself this badge to declare yourself a NaNo Rebel! You believe rules are meant to be broken. On November 1, you’ll start writing anything but a brand new novel.

paper

I have a half-finished novel, a memoir that I’ve been working on for too many years to count. It’s time to get it finished and that’s why I have signed up for this years NaNoWriMo. Traditionally NaNo is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. After I complete my first 3-day novel contest, I thought NaNo would be a breeze. My first attempt was not as easy as my ego thought. I tried to start a fresh new idea and by the first week I was being drawn to my work in progress and I basically stopped NaNo2012 and didn’t about it again. Then I completed my second 3-day novel contest and something changed. I felt creativity take over more and more. I was getting out of my own way. A slight push from my writing mentor helped me to finish my first full manuscript and once again something changed. I was really getting out of my own way. I was no longer in control, I wanted creativity and imagination to take over, they really didn’t go away, I just got in the way. Now, I’m running to the page and ready to finish my second novel/memoir.

bigmagic

I can be honest here, that’s what this platform is for, honesty, raw emotion, writing myself to another life. I was slowly abandoning my creativity and imagination and replacing it with what the ego “thought” it needed to be doing, working full-time and coming home and numb myself with a glass of wine or two and zoning out on yet another rerun of Seinfeld or the latest Netflix show. The scary thing is, is I knew what I was doing, I would vow to get my ass to the page and write, but I didn’t, day after day, night after night, one less word towards my novel wasn’t being written. Something had to change.

bizidea

Something did change, my routines, my thought processes, my way of thinking. I stopped the pity party of moaning about how I “thought” I didn’t have enough time to write after working 9 plus hours a day, but really I did have time. Ten minutes is better than not writing at all. Then the “thinking” I had to run errands each week was replaced with letting go of that task and accepting help from my partner and now I have more time to submerge myself in the creativity that call out to me as I reach joyously towards the page. I want to get the words on the page and here I am, one word at a time.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

marlon

2 thoughts on “I’m a NaNoWriMo Rebel

  1. I haven’t done NaNo once in my life for a couple of reasons. One, I’m bad with word count goals. And I feel discouraged if I don’t meet them. Two, I’m usually tired by the time everything I need to do is done. Finding the energy to bust out words even for a short period of time is not there.

    Even though I’m not doing NaNo, I’m using the time to finish some stories I’ve left by the wayside. I want to get to the point where I finish something I start in a reasonable amount of time. Most of the time, it takes more than a day to write a short story, but letting it lapse for over a month is ridiculous. Granted, I need to be more assertive when I want time to myself to write. The point is that I want to be more proactive than I have in the past. That’s something I’ll strive for the remainder of the year and into next year.

    Best of luck with finishing your memoir, Marion. And go NaNo Rebels!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. One word at a time my friend. I’m not good with word goal counts either – that’s why being a NaNo rebel suits me, LOL. I took a day and a half off to do some edits. Today, I just got home from work, my husband is making dinner so I can squeeze in a writing session for 20 -30 minutes. I’ll take the moments when I can, and even if I don’t write a lot, the intention of being with creativity weighs out the urge to sit in front of the TV and zone out on the hockey game afterwork. Oh the games we play with our ego to get to the page. Speaking of the page, I better get to it.
      Keep at your short stories, I can feel your true intention to get them done.
      Happy writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

