3, 2, 1….Blast Off – A Month Devoted to Writing

november

November, for me, has always felt like the hurry-up-and-wait-to-get-to-Christmas month. The Halloween Candy hangover is over and as I look forward to Remembrance day to honor our Veterans. I get more and more discouraged to see glimpses of the Christmas Holiday’s slowly slip in with a fake tree starting to be put up in a store, or eggnog showing up in the local grocery store. Times have certainly changed and to maintain my old school nostalgic self, I have tried to remain in my writing world over the years and look up around the first week of December to see if I’m ready to even think about the holidays. Sadly I have to participate in the early thoughts of Santa Claus as my parents live in Nova Scotia and to avoid the express postage across the country in a pinch, I have started to mail their Christmas box by the first week of December, which means, yes, I have finished almost fifty percent of my Christmas shopping. Deep breath.

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

I digress now. My intention of this post is about my month devoted to writing by participating in the 2016 NaNoWriMo writing contest:National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing.

Like my first 3-day novel contest, I decided to enter a few days before the start date. I did try the NaNoWriMo a few years ago, but I was in a different space and trying to do to many writing projects at once. Now, I’m focused and prepared to commit to this one idea, this one passion and when creativity and imagination present a new idea, I certainly will pay attention, say thank you and write down the idea and promise to work on the new idea once I finish this November journey. This is my commitment to myself, to creativity, to the universe.

sticky-notes-1

What have I done to prepare for this adventure? I have an outline and passion to write. I know myself, I know I can sit down and just write, I know that when creativity is ready it will show up and we will have fun. I know that I will write and work on this novel for a month, I know that I will have moments of clarity, anger, joy, fear. I know that I might not be up to date with social media and staying in contact with the NaNoWriMo community, but I will certainly try. I know that I am going to show up and write and that’s what this quest is about. Showing up and writing.

you-can

I encourage you to look into the NaNoWriMo or similar writing events to get yourself to the page. That’s what this is all about, getting to the page and sharing. What’s the story you want to write? How can I help you to get that story to the page? Let’s connect and write!

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

george-marks-man-sitting-at-typewriter

2 thoughts on “3, 2, 1….Blast Off – A Month Devoted to Writing

  1. I’m not doing NaNo, but I have goals set for the month. I want to finish some stories I started throughout the year. It’s kind of a big deal because I’m not one who can churn out short stories in a day. That’s just not me. I’ll be cheering you on, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a great goal! I’m using NaNo to push me to finish my second memoir, which I started so many years ago. All the bits are there, I just need to piece them together and what I end up with. Thanks for the cheers – I’ll be cheering you on as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

