Being Aware of This Moment

aware-1350046_960_720

The theme this week and maybe for many weeks is about trust and devotion. There are so many mediums sharing with us how to maintain your devotion to your passion, but it all comes down to one simple act. Sit down and write. I am persistent with this notion because I care about the creative life, my creative life and yours.

spices

The essential ingredients or creativity remain exactly the same for everybody: courage, enchantment, permission, persistence, trust – and those elements are universally accessible. Which does not mean that creative living always easy; it merely means that creative living is always possible. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

 

woman-writing-handwriting

This rings true for me. For the past eight years I have been writing morning pages; three long hand written pages that I write each morning as soon as I wake up, and some mornings the things that show up on my pages is something out of this world, that something is creativity and it has a story to tell. Then some mornings, I’m crying on the pages how I don’t want to go to my day job, the laundry seems to be just pure evil and the dust bunnies have taken over because I can’t seem to muster the energy to vacuum. What is rolling around in the brain goes onto the page and like meditation, I’m in the zone: time and space do not exist and I am just right here and now.

lock

I am very persistent with my morning pages, I will get up at least 45 minutes before I start my day, the writing is important it deserves my time. It takes practice to get better at your craft and I’m working on my craft each and everyday in some facet. I am persistent because I am in love, in love with creativity, with this creative life. I love siting down and slipping into the cracks of imagination and creativity. Oh creativity, how I love thee.

How do you express your love for writing, the creative life? What gets you onto the page to get lost in the words, in another life that you have creativity woven?

Until next time, keep on typing . . .

music

Leave a Reply

