Back to Persistence

10

With my manuscript on someone else’s desk to decide if it will be published, the creativity is filled with a new sense of excitement. A sense of persistence to work on the next book fills me up. Creativity wants to get to work and though I feel compelled to get to the page, I’ve been standing in the corner with a wee bit of the ego whispering ‘you deserve a break, you worked so hard on that one book, it’s time for a nap.’ Creativity is pushing ego right off the edge of the building ‘no way, we are ready to start again! Move out-of-the-way, here we come!’

pushed

 

I am meant to be creating and much like Elizabeth Gilbert and Julia Cameron’s thoughts on not creating; if I am not creating something I am actively destroying something else in my life (diet, relationships, my spirit). I know, I feel, right down to my inner core that if I am not creating then I am not doing what I’ve been chosen to do and that does not make me happy. To maintain optimum levels of happiness and balance I know I need to be writing every day and beyond the three morning pages. I want to write more and more and the high of it grows stronger with each word. When I don’t write I start to crash; the withdrawal from my characters, the story has a hold on me, I must stay connected in some way to maintain the balance of work/life/creativity. I must be persistent.

woman-tearing-hair-out

An abiding stereotype of creativity is that it turns people crazy. I disagree: Not expressing creativity turns people crazy (“If you bring forth what is within you, what you bring forth will save you. If you don’t bring forth what is within you, what you don’t bring forth will destroy you.” – Gospel of Thomas.) Bring forth what is within you, then, whether it succeeds or fails. Do it whether the final product (your souvenir) is crap or gold. Do it whether the critics love you or hate you – Do it whether people get it or don’t it. It doesn’t have to be perfect, and you don’t have to be Plato. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

closeuponzoe

It comes down to one simple notion. Just sit down and write, or stand and write, it doesn’t matter where you do it, just write. Be tenacious. Be demanding of yourself. Don’t let your ego, the old behaviour tell you what your comfortable with, that’s not good enough. Writing and creating is what is going to maintain your balance. Don’t you want that balance? How do you keep your balance? How do you stay persistent with your creativity? I am here sitting writing, I left work at 10:15pm and when I got home, I changed out of my suit, put on comfy clothes, sat down and started to write. That is me telling myself ‘if not now, when?’ When does your now begin?

Until next time, keeping on typing . . . .

boy

Leave a Reply

