Professional vs. Amateur

hands-reaching-out

I am an artist. I am a writer. I’m so close to being a professional artists. To be clear, here is where I’m coming from. Steven Pressfield shares a clear definition of amateurs and pros.

When I say professional, I don’t mean doctors and lawyers, those of the professions, I mean the professional as an ideal. The professional in contrast to the amateur. Consider the differences:

  • The amateur plays for fun. The professional plays for keeps.
  • The amateur plays part time, the professional full-time.

The professional loves it so much he dedicates his life to it. He commits full-time. That’s what I mean when I saw turning pro. Resistance hates it when we turn pro.

chaulk board

In my heart I’m a total pro. I am fully completely committed to creativity, yet resistance, the ego, snakes in and an hour will go b and I haven’t don’t a thing to be with my passion. This notion I am very aware of, this I am aware makes me angry, use the anger to get to the page, write about it. Here I am, writing about it.

Another great example from Steven Pressfield:

Someone once asked Somerset Maugham if he wrote on a schedule or only when struck by inspiration. “I write only when inspiration strikes,” he replied. “Fortunately it strikes every morning at nine o’clock sharp.”                                             That’s a pro.                                                                                                                                  In terms of Resistance, Maugham was saying, “I despise Resistance: I will not let it faze me: I will sit down and do my work.”                                                                     Maugham reckoned another, deeper truth: that by performing the mundane physical act or sitting down and starting to work, he set in motion a mysterious but infallible sequence of events that would produce inspiration, as surely as if the goddess had synchronized her watch wit his. He knew it he built it, she would come.

Writing-Woman-Desk-Old

I know if just sit my ass down and start to write I will slip quickly into the zone – that place where time and space do not matter, only this very moment, the moment where pen hits the paper, finger tips on the keyboard, the muse giddily kneeling next to you whispering sweet words into your ears and you writing as fast as you can. I can feel that moment right now as I sit here an write these words. I’m actually handwriting this piece and will type, which I am doing now, it out when I am done. Sometimes, okay about 85% of the time, I prefer to write long hand first, then type later, it helps with the second draft so to speak. I find my hand glides easily along the page and I am committed to the page, to the words. I am a professional.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

Authors-and-typewriters-3-002

 

 

Leave a Reply

