Bouncing Around the Room

phish

I just returned from a two day Phish festival at the Gorge Amphitheatre in George, WA. That might not mean much to a lot of people, but there are fellow Phisheads that understand what this means.

road

My husband and I drove five hours from Vancouver Island (six and half hours including the ferry trip to Port Angeles), last Friday morning on a road adventure to see our favourite band. My husband had stumbled upon Phish over twenty years ago and I about fifteen years ago when I met my loving partner. When we first met he shared how their music changed his life and their music was a lifestyle not just another top 40 band. He couldn’t be more true.

When I jumped off, I had a bucket full of thoughts
When I first jumped off, I held that bucket in my hand
Ideas that would take me all around the world
I stood and watched the smoke behind the mountain curl
It took me a long time to get back on the train

Phish is a U.S.-based band known for musical improvisation, extended jams, blending of genres, and dedicated fan base. When I say dedicated fan base, I mean the fans are truly dedicated. 30,000 fans gathered at the Gorge for the latest two festival, which is small compared to the 85,000 people my husband was part of at the millennium show in Cypress, Florida. That is what I called dedicated fans.

Creativity put these four guys together to create music that would be people together to share the love of music. That is pure magical creativity.

Waste is one of my favourite songs, but they have over 30 years of music to choose from, that it’s really hard for me to pick just one song, however, this song speaks how my husband and I met and how we connect. All I want to do is waste time away with him. I am a die hard romantic.

bench

We camped at the Gorge, which was also a great experience, great weather, great camping neighbors and for me, a person is set in her little bubble of a routine to get up, work out, go to work, go to bed and get up to do it all over again; well, to get up and to nothing for two days was pretty amazing and exactly what the body, mind and soul called for. I needed to sit back and soak in the sun and energy of the entire weekend. I had no cares and it felt good to be really unplugged. No wi-fi, no 3G to connect to, just wake up, write my morning pages and sit by the tent to read, people watch and chat with our camping neighbours. It was genuinely a truly magical time.

You won’t find moments in a box
And someone else will set your clocks
I took a moment from my day
Wrapped it up in things you say
                                                    And mailed it off to you                                                                                                              ~ Wading in the Velvet Sea

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

leoontherocks

Leave a Reply

