What I’m learning about blogging

 

pen1

What I am learning about my blogging is this notion if I am not writing, I am not fulfilling my true self, I am not keeping my part of the bargain with creativity and when this happens, I don’t feel at my best. My authentic self cries out to be heard, she craves to be given a pen to write the day away, and when I do sit down to write two things occur:

1. I actually write and I am filled with bliss, there is no time, there is only now, this very moment. #Grateful.                                                                                                             2. My ego, the old behavior that knows it would be the best option to just write, but simply procrastinates and flips through magazines, scrolls Facebook, catch up on Twitter, post a picture to Instagram, search on Craigslist for a new place to live, search for inspiring photo’s,quotes, anything that will spark my imagination. Simply, not write. #frustrated

paper

I am grateful that I am aware of when the second part is happening. I just did this on Saturday, I sat down to our dining room table with laptop, hard-copies of my newest story and when I figured out that I didn’t save a portion of my work that I typed out from my note-book, I became frustrated and wanted to figure out where the hell the work went, I knew I had added a few more sentences to the new material and it wasn’t there. I huffed and stood up, walked around the living room, then back and forth from the kitchen to my laptop, then I sat back down and took a deep breath, “Who is aware?” Self inquiry brought me back to the moment, to the here and now. I started to re-type the notes and sank a little deeper into the story. The characters had more to say, more of their story, not mine. This is why I write.

survivor-atoz [2016] v2

When I completed this year’s blogging challenge I vowed to myself I would continue to write more blogs. I had a routine, I was getting more words down on the page, I was fill with not only words, but with purse joy of my authentic self. Why would I turn around and walk away from this blissful feeling? That is a good question. So when I write I answer the questions that stir within me, I must commit to writing, I must commit to write at least two blogs a week, not only for myself but for you. I know each of us struggles with some kind of demon that takes us away from our writing, this is why I write. To share with you that you are not alone, I am right there with you. Don’t stop writing, even if you write one sentence, it’s one more sentence that you would have written if you walked away from the page.

walk

I hope you are doing well with you latest writing session and you are taking the time for you and your passion, the creativity, the writing.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

vintage-barn-wedding28

 

4 thoughts on “What I’m learning about blogging

  1. Very well spoken. I came close on too many occasions to quit writing. I’m glad I haven’t. There are times where I get Writer’s Block, and it happens pretty frequently. I’m trying to not let that happen as often. Like you said, as long as I have one sentence down, it’s better than nothing. Thank you for sharing your stories and struggles. It encourages me knowing I am not alone and urges me to keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are not alone Marion Ann that’s for sure. And keeping your muse healthy and strong is part of being a writer.
    Major applause on keeping on, keeping on. You never know what you will unearth until you create the opportunities to write.
    Have a fabulous day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

