Should’ve, could’ve, and ought to’s

sky writing

I get up at 4:30am to write my morning pages, then I go to the gym until about 7:00am. I come home and get ready for my day job at the hotel life, a job that is much like my creative life, it’s a life style not a “job”.  Then there is something that happens at the hotel that is very much like what happens when I write. I get sucked in and into the zone of the hotel world. Sometimes it’s good and sometimes it’s not so good. I’m consumed with other people’s concerns, employee relations and day-to-day details that can not be ignored. Or can they?

 

As a department head I have a responsibility and I have a team to lead, this is my job, I understand that. I am very grateful for this opportunity as it provides me with what is needed to maintain this creative live. The hotel world not only provides me with the means to keep a roof over my head, but it also gives me great story ideas, a place to do my best people watching. Really it is.Then there is a point in my day where I think “I should be writing” That notion fills my heart and my true self is now shaking my head thinking “I ought to be writing”. Oh-Oh. What happened to me being in the zone, where did my balance of writing and working go?

Yes, you must feel free when you write. You must disentangle all oughts. You must disconnect all shackles, weights, obligations, all duties. You can write as badly as you want to. You can write anything you want to – a six act blank verse, symbolic tragedy or a vulgar short, short story. Just that you write it with honesty and gusto, and do not try to make somebody believe that you are smarter than you are. ~ Brenda Ueland

When I think I ought to be writing, this is my true self speaking up and I have to listen. I want to write freely, I love the idea of freeing myself of all shackles, break the ego symbolic wrist re-straights and just write! Oh but wait, I have to go to work soon. This is where the ego slithers itself back in and tries to invade the blood stream. Well, I won’t have it! I don’t want to be sitting here time after time thinking how I should be writing, when I just need to sit my butt down and write.  This is key, just write.

It’s important to help one another out with our writing. I invite you to write me with your challenges, your successes, what you want to write about, why you don’t write, why you write, when you write, where you write, and everything in between. A sharing in you , is a sharing in me. When we share, we learn and we be, be right here on the page.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

black and white

One thought on “Should’ve, could’ve, and ought to’s

  1. There is so much I want to share, but I feel this comment box is very limited. So, I’ll give you the “box score.” I’ve had a poem and short story published in college. I want to write about adult issues like love, betrayal, death, mental illness. I write because I believe God gave me this gift to string words together. Having said that, sometimes I don’t write because I lack discipline to stick to a time to write everyday. Also, I run out of things to write about.

    That’s me in a nutshell. I would like to talk about these issues more in detail if given the chance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

