I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award!

A Big Thank you to JA Goodsell at The Course of Events for my very first blog award nomination: the Liebster Award! I’m really honored and grateful. liebsteraward

I have been blogging for over three years but have been seriously dedicated to my blog for over a year now.  I am always honored when people stop by and read my blog and comment on my subjects, mostly about writing, I am pretty keen on sharing the creative life with you.

 

With this nomination comes 11 questions to answer, 11 blogs to nominate, and 11 questions to write!

Here are those 11 questions given to me

1. Who is your favorite author and why?

At the moment Julia Cameron, her book, The Artist’s way has helped me on my path of creativity. I’ve always known I was a writer, I loved to tell stories but I needed a little nudge to get me to where I was going, to the page.

2. What are your thoughts on e-readers?

e-readers are helpful for some people, for me personally I prefer a paper-book, especially old books. I love the way they smell (I know that sounds odd, but it’s true), I love the feel of a book in my hands, the way they look stacked up on my desk and book shelves, I love to highlight and tab my books, if I read a good line and want to go back to it, then a simple tab will do. You can mark up a e-reader. Okay, so I’m a bit of a hopeless romantic when it comes to paper-books

3. What is the most exciting thing you’ve ever done (that was also legal)?

I have a few, but swimming with turtles in Maui makes it to top of the chart. I love turtles.

4. Does your family read your blog?

Yes, or at least I would hope they do.

5. What do you blog about and why?

I blog about writing; why we write, how we write, when we write, what gets us to the page, why we don’t write and everything in between about writing. It’s important to support one another and if I can share something that will inspire you to get to the page , that’s why I write. To inspire you to get to the page as fast as possible.

6. E-book or paper book?

Paper book all the way!

7. Do you listen to any podcasts (if so, which ones)?

Yes. Coaching for leaders, CBC’s The Next Chapter, CBC’s Writer’s & Company, and Meditation podcasts.

8. How do you work your daily life into your writing/blog?

If I’m not blogging about writing then I’m reading about writing. I love to get a stack of books from the library from some of my favourite authors who share their experiences about their craft. For example, when I bought Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic, I blogged about the book, the little things that made me go “A-ha!” I become more conscious of my writing when I’m putting my writing life into my daily life.

I also work in a hotel and it’s a great place to people watch and get great idea’s for new stories. I’m very grateful for all the experiences that have and are being provided to me – creativity is with me always.

9. What has been the most meaningful piece of literature in your life?

This is a hard question, but in this moment,the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. But Wuthering Heights is still very close to my heart.

10. Do you listen to music while you write/blog?

Yes, sometimes I listen to Jazz (these day’s it’s been a lot of jazz), sometimes 80’s and sometimes random coffee-house background music.

11. Kirk or Picard?

I’m not a big Star Trek fan but I’d say Kirk.

That was fun, not easy, but fun!

Here, in no particular order, are my 11 nominations (this was really hard as a new(ish) blogger to find other new bloggers, so good luck to you)!

  1. Pen and Keys 
  2. Author Eric Johnson
  3. Music & Words
  4. Project Blacklight
  5. amyhenrybooks 
  6. Jo-Ann Carson
  7. Lauren Green, Author
  8. Read. Write. Live!
  9. greg:blee
  10. Diane Riggins 
  11. On the Road to Reinvention

And here are the 11 questions for you!

1. Who is your favorite author and why?

2. What are your thoughts on e-readers?

3. What is the most exciting thing you’ve ever done (that was also legal)?

4. Does your family read your blog?

5. What is your favourite movie and why?

6. If you could invite any two famous people to dinner (dead or alive), who would it be and why?

7. If you won the lottery (we’re talking the big jackpot) what three things would you do first?

8. What has been the most meaningful piece of literature in your life?

9. Do you listen to music while you write/blog? 

10. What book are you reading now?

11. What is your favourite movie sequel? 

And there you have it! For everyone I nominated, here are the rules:

If you choose to accept the award…

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you (don’t forget to include a link to my blog!)
  • Answer the 11 questions I gave you
  • Nominate up to 11 other bloggers yourself (preferably those with fewer than 500 followers, this is more of a newbie award)
  • Provide those bloggers with 11 questions of your own for them to answer
  • Don’t forget to put the Liebster Award sticker on your blog!                                                                                                                                                                     I think I covered everything. Time to go put that sticker up!

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

type1

6 thoughts on “I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award!

  1. Congratulations on the Liebster Award nomination! Sometimes between the writing of our books and the writing of our blogs, it can be a challenge to lift our heads long enough to see who else out there is blogging and what they’re talking about.

    And thanks, too, for nominating my blog.

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by. There a few meditation podcasts that I have found from iTunes and youtube. You don’t want long meditations to start off with, like writing, meditation is all about practice, as my guru use to say, baby steps, baby steps. I still sometimes need to go back to the basic’s and meditate for 20 minutes to get myself into the silence, but then I will sit in meditation for an hour and it will fell like a blink of an eye. Just like writing, it’s like being in the writing zone. Creativity is amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Liebster Award! – at Milliways with a pen

Leave a Reply

