I’m just going to write because I cannot help it

writing_trees

Charlotte Bronte knew she had to write. I also cannot help it. There is something within me that cannot stop writing or think about writing. Writing is on my brain, always. Words flow in my blood. I must write. I must share.

The other night I saw a post on Instagram that said something like this:

I know writers who write about writing but don’t actually write. You have to write to finish the book. The novel won’t finish itself.

notes

I’m paraphrasing 150% here, but you get what I’m trying share. You have to write to finish the novel you’ve been working on for however long. Then when you are done writing and re-writing, then the work of getting published consumes you. Though I love writing about writing, I sit here shaking my head in agreement that I’m here writing about how I’m not writing, when I could be working on my book. What a vicious circle we end up playing with ourselves. The ego is a like an ex-boyfriend/girlfriend that just won’t go away. It takes practice to get to the page and one day the ex doesn’t show up and you’re in the zone, writing.

jc

However, I think it’s important to support one another, take the time to share each other’s joys and sorrows of the writers life. I love reading and researching other writers antidotes about writing. We all need a little help and when we ask for assistance that creativity is really ready to work with us. It’s been waiting to work with us and it will jump in at any moment, here I am, let’s play!

So, let’s play.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

woods

4 thoughts on “I’m just going to write because I cannot help it

  1. I love your posts about the need to write. They inspire me to keep writing when I get discouraged. There are days where I can’t help but to write something, anything. And then, there are days where I feel like my writing is crap and I ask myself, “Why am I writing?” But then, I read your post, and am reminded that I write because creativity is in my blood and I can’t help but to write. Thank you for your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m feeling your gratitude, it’s very nice to hear that you are pushing on with your writing. Writing is in our blood, we have to write because it’s our passion, our calling, creativity is our true self. Keep writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

