It Takes Practice

Woman-running

When it comes something you are passionate about, there is a need for practice. Practice to improve. Practice to be with your passion, to settle in with it, to make friends to simply sit and be with your passion. Writing is like running, the more you do it, the better you get at it.

You practice whether you want to or not. You don’t wait around for inspiration and a deep desire to run. It’ll never happen, especially if you are out of shape and have been avoiding it. But if you run regularly, you train your mind to cut through or ignore your resistance. ~ Natalie Goldberg

hand of woman meditating in a yoga pose on beach

When I started to mediate and sat with a guru, I received a lot of insight, but one of the key messages was practice, practice, practice. The more you practice, the longer you can meditate, the more you practice the quicker you can watch the thoughts pass by, not “think” and be right here and now. I apply the same practice to writing. The more I write the better I become. The more I write the longer I can write. The more I sit down and write the self-doubter dissolves quickly. I know I want to be right here writing, and if I show up every day then I am one step further than I was yesterday. That’s creativity working with us.

Once you’re deep into it, you wonder what took you so long to finally settle down at the desk. Through practice you actually do get better. You learn to trust your deep self more and not give in to your voice that wants to avoid writing. ~ Natalie Goldberg 

cute-girl-writing

There will be days that I need a good chunk of time, maybe an hour or so to putter around and then I settle into the writing and I always laugh that I realize ‘what they hell was I waiting for?’ and then there are days where I can jump right into the writing and in a blink of an eye a few hours have flown by. I love being in the zone!

Think of writing as loving arms you come to illogically and incoherently. It’s our wild forest where we gather energy before going to prune our garden, write our fine books and novels. It’s a continual practice. ~ Natalie Goldberg

And for goodness sake, don’t stop writing, keep your hand moving and stay right here and now.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

running

 

4 thoughts on “It Takes Practice

  1. Practice, practice, practice. That’s what I’ve been missing. I need to practice writing on a daily basis. And not just on my iPhone app, but actual writing with pen and paper. I think that’s the only way I’ll get better. Only thing is I don’t know if journaling will make me better, or writing real stories. I suppose both will do, but the point is I want to get better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my experience when I am writing in my journal or writing morning pages, a story will start showing up and I’m writing faster to get the idea down, the characters voices are louder and I’m trying to catch up. Keep writing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

