Z is for Zorro

zorro

I had my list of topics when I started the A to Z Challenge, mostly about writing and creativity. For some reason I wrote down Zorro, maybe it was my artist within that wanted to pipe up and have some fun with the last letter of the challenge.

Zorro (Spanish for “fox”) is the secret identity of Don Diego de la Vega, a fictional character created in 1919 by pulp writer Johnston McCulley. He is a Californian nobleman living in Los Angeles during the era of Mexican rule (between 1821 and 1846),[1] although some movie adaptations of Zorro’s story have placed him during the earlier Spanish rule.

The character has undergone changes through the years, but the typical image of him is a dashing black-clad masked outlaw who defends the commoners and indigenous peoples of the land against tyrannical officials and other villains. Not only is he too cunning and foxlike for the bumbling authorities to catch, but he also delights in publicly humiliating them. The character has been featured in numerous books, films, television series, and other media. ~ Wikipedia and Zorro Legend Through Time.

When I was a young girl I watched the TV show Zorro and thought how much fun it would be to living in the times of Zorro where he would swoop in and save the day. Or be Zorro, I could be Zorro! Then I would start thinking of how I could write an episode for Zorro. I still want to write TV shows, or a movie, creativity wants to write a movie with me, I can feel that, I hear the whispers of the ideas.

Argosy_191206

As I was researching Zorro, I read more about the author, Johnston McCulley. He has been described as an amateur history buff and wrote pulp fiction in the early 1900’s. How cool is that!? I mean, this man was hit by an idea and he ran with it. Creativity whispered, a man in a mask who helps people and he’s a bit of a smartass. I love it! James wrote what would be a legend in our time. Everyone knows who is Zorro is. I have to repeat myself, how cool is that.

creative-art-drawings-tumblr-wallpaper-3

Creativity is sacred, and it is not sacred. What we make matters enormously, and it doesn’t matter at all. We toil alone, and we are accompanied by spirits. We are terrified, and we are brave. Art is a crushing chore and a wonderful privilege. The work wants to be made, and it wants to be made through you. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

This is not a new notion, creativity has been whispering in our ears for a very long time. It’s amazing to read about James and his writing life, the creativity wanted to be made and James helped bring Zorro to life.

This is the last day of the A to Z challenge and I’m going to miss the daily blog, so why not keep writing, sharing, and being right here on the page.

Until next time, keep on typing . . . .

holding type

Leave a Reply

