X is for x . . .

X

I still don’t know what word to use for X, I asked my partner and he said xylophone, he said ‘it’s creative and that’s your theme right?’ he is right, my theme is about creativity, the writing, the love of writing and why I can’t think of a word to relate to x is getting to me. The first word I did think about was xerox and how I could play on the “copy” sense of xerox, but that now doesn’t make sense to me. So I’m sitting here typing away with no “x” word to delightfully share about writing, how can that be? Here we have something called being stuck, but not for long because X marks the spot. The spot in my heart that thrives on writing, the spot that is being stubborn right now and trying to get through this particular post and annoyed that I don’t have a witty way to play on the letter X. X-rated, but I don’t really want to get into erotica at the moment, that might be a post for a later date.

xylophone

So let’s go with my partner’s suggestion and see where we end up.

xy·lo·phone
A percussion instrument consisting of a mounted row of wooden bars that are graduated in length to sound a chromatic scale, played with two small mallets.

Word History: Alphabet books for children frequently feature the word xylophone because it is one of the few words beginning with x that a child (or most adults, for that matter) would know. The majority of English words beginning with x, including many obscure scientific terms, go back to one of five Greek words: xanthos, “yellow,” xenos, “stranger,” xēros, “dry,” xiphos, “sword,” or xulon, “wood.” The initial x, representing the Greek letter xi, is now pronounced (z) in English even though it was pronounced (ks) by the Greeks. ~ The Free dictionary by Farlex

It’s a pretty interesting instrument and there are many different types of xylophones. I love music and the xylophone can create some amazing music. Very relaxing and motivational sounds that trigger me to keep writing. I’ve learned a little more about an instrument that I really only had an idea about and have added to my music collection.

Until next time, keep on typing….

 suit case typewriter

2 thoughts on “X is for x . . .

Leave a Reply

