S is for Serendipity

S

ser·en·dip·i·ty
the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way.
“a fortunate stroke of serendipity”
synonyms: (happy) chance, (happy) accident, fluke; luck, good luck, good fortune, fortuity, providence; happy coincidence
“the consequence of serendipity is sometimes a brilliant discovery”

 

One of my writing mantra’s with the help of Julia Cameron is ‘As I create and listen, I am being led‘ and I pretty much write the following gratitude statement: I am very grateful for this amazing opportunity that is being provided to maintain this beautiful creative life that is fully intended. I truly believe this. I believe in serendipity, in serendipitous events that randomly happen, that one brief moment where you are at the right place at the right time and bam! Magic happens. This goes for writing as well. If I didn’t move to Lake Louise for a few months during university, then I wouldn’t have witnessed the great beauty of the Canadian Rockies and I wouldn’t have gained the experiences in the hotel industry to move me around to other great resorts, meeting amazing people who taught me so much about leadership and the hotel world.

If I didn’t email a colleague at another property asking about a job then I wouldn’t have moved to Edmonton or met the love of my life. I wouldn’t have taken a job in a small town on the 49th parrellel of Vancouver Island where I gained so much more in the hotel world and where my creative life really took off. Each event was linked to the next event, the journey was being paved with serendipity and synchronicity, answered prayers were showing up and I was graciously accepting each moment knowing that ‘everything happens for a reason’ and here I sit with my laptop and watching a beautiful sunset. Thank you universe!

Answered prayers deliver us back to our own hand. This is not comfortable. We find it easier to accept them as examples of synchronicity:

  • A woman admits to a buried dream of acting. At dinner the next night, she sits beside a man who teaches beginning actors.
  • A businessman who has secretly written for years vows to himself to ask a professional writer for a prognosis on his talent. The next might, over a pool table, he meets a writer who becomes is mentor and then collaborator on several successful books.

When I started to seriously look at devoting time to my spiritual life, my partner saw an ad for a job as a resort manager for a thirty room resort with possibilities. I went to the interview and the new resort that I would help open was for meditation retreat resort. Thank you! Then when I asked to have time to write full-time but still get paid, that very same meditation center closed for the winder. I was able to write and still earn an income from unemployment insurance, I didn’t specify how I wanted to get paid, but I’ll take what I’ve asked for. I just learned how to be more specific with my prayers (Laughing out loud!).

As I create and listen, I am being led – it couldn’t be more true for this moment.

Until next time, keep on typing….

small type

 

 

Leave a Reply

