Q is for Quiet

Q

I love the quiet, being still, just being right here and now. I find that when I am quiet then I am able to here the creativity clearly. When there is a lot of noise I don’t feel grounded, I feel like there is a messy disarray lingering in the mind and I’m not able to focus on the task at hand. The writing.

Inspiration comes very slowly and quietly. Say that you want to write. Well, not much will come to you your first day. Perhaps nothing at all. You will sit before your typewriter or paper and look out the window and begin to brush your hair absent mindedly for an hour or two. Never mind. That is all right.  ~ Brenda Ueland

How many times have we all done this? Maybe not hair brushing, but tapping of fingers on the keyboard, playing with pens, move books around and for me I am fortunate to have a writing room with a window, and I end up staring out at the red maple swaying to the wind. As Brenda Ueland says, ‘That is all right.’

So you see the imagination needs moodling, – long, inefficient, happy idling, dawdling and puttering. . . .If you write, good ideas must come welling up into you so that you have something to write. If good ideas do not come at once, or for a long time, do not be troubled at all. Wait for them. Put down the little ideas however insignificant they are. But do not feel, any more, guilty about idleness and solitude. ~ Brenda Ueland

peaceful-meditation-beach-300x205

I was idle during our vacation to Oregon but since our road trip along the Pacific coast I have noticed ideas showing up, little moments where creativity and I are one and I pay attention with intention. I jot down the words, a sentences, a scene, whatever it shows up as, I’m writing it down. I am patient with myself, I am learning.

Until next time, keep on typing….

old flowers

3 thoughts on “Q is for Quiet

  1. I have to have quiet whenever I write. It helps me focus on whatever I’m writing. But sometimes, it’s nice to be with your own thoughts and feelings. It’s good to use that time to reflect, to get your mindset right throughout the day. I try to have “quiet times” in the mornings to help me have a good attitude for the day and think about all I need to do.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

