P is for Play

P

Let’s go outside and play! Can Susie come out and play? How many times have we heard this from our childhood? When my dad was in the Navy, we use to live in the Private Married Quarters (PMQ’s) for most of m childhood. Everyone was so close, no fears. One of the PMQ’s were houses and at any given moment any of us kids would be at the door knocking away looking for our friends and asking “can Susie come out and play!” no question, just a statement of enthusiasm as Susie would come running the stairs crying out in joy ‘mom, I’m going out to play with Mary!’ and off we went. Then that’s when the real play began and not just physical play, but my kind of play.

Children running on meadow at sunset
Children running on meadow at sunset

I would arrange stories for our barbies to act out. My imagination was never turned off. We created our own little worlds when we were together, but it didn’t stop when we were called back into our homes when dusk finally met the evening. I would carry on the stories and plays my friends and I created together. I started to notice that I was always thinking about different stories and ideas for TV shows even movies! My creativity started a very young age.

The other kind of play is to make sure we take time to spend with our artist. From the Artist’s Way, Julia Cameron shares the importance of an artist date:

An artist date is a block of time, perhaps two hours weekly, especially set aside and committed to nurturing your creative consciousness, your inner artist. A play date that you preplan and defend against all interlopers. You do not take anyone on this date but you and your inner artists, a.k.a your creative child. . . .Your artists needs to be taken out, pampered, and listened to. Visit a great junk sore, a solo trip to the beach, and old movie see alone together, visit an art gallery – these cost time, not money. Remember, it is the time commitment that is sacred. 

Like any relationship it takes time to connect and create memories, that connection that continues to move us forward. Playing with your artist is just like playing with your friends. Making that time to connect and to have fun. My inner artist loves to people watch, so we head to beach once a week (when the weather is good) and other times going to a cafe or the art gallery is another great place to people watch. I listen to my inner artist and I love that we can take time to play.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

playful

Leave a Reply

