O is for Opportunity

O

op·por·tu·ni·ty
noun: a set of circumstances that makes it possible to do something.
synonyms: chance, lucky chance, favorable time/occasion/moment, time, right set of circumstances, occasion, moment, opening, option, window (of opportunity), turn, go, possibility.

My life has been and still is all about opportunity. I have opened the doors of opportunity along my journey and I’m so very grateful for each and everyone one of them.

Let me explain a little of my path in the hotel world, it was and continues to be effortless. This what they say it feels like to be doing something that you enjoy that you’ll never feel like you are working. Yes, there have been bumps along the way, but every opportunity was meant to be, to get me where I was going, right here and now.

ll

When I was nineteen I got a job at the Chateau Lake Louise Hotel & Resort. I started off as a busser then in about two months I was being trained how to be a server, a five-star resort server in a corporate world. It sounds strict, but it was the kind of training I needed to get me here. I learned so much that first summer. I learned I had a knack for telling stories to people and they were interested in my stories and people tipped me more than I expected. I also learned to use this to my advantage. If I threw in something about their home town, if I knew just a little bit about them, I connected to them that much more. I also learned how to drink until 4am and then go to work for 6am and not get caught that I was still either drunk or trying to sober up. I learned that I really liked serving people, in a way I was part of their experience and they were part of mine. Then I would go back to my staff accommodations and write daily in my journals and any ideas that showed up, whispered into my ear, presented itself as I had the luxury was gazing at the beautiful Victoria Glacier. What an opportunity!

fall

I went back to university each fall that I worked at the resort, then when I granulated I decided to stay until after Christmas and I was promoted to the training team, I started to take those opportunities when they showed up. If I didn’t get a job I knew I wasn’t ready for it, I never really got upset over not getting job. I would keep on writing and working, work and write. In the winter I would work, write and ski, the summer I would work, write and hike.  It was the life I said I wanted, I wanted a job where I could work anywhere and still write.

With each hotel property I moved too, I was still writing (except for a period of time when I wasn’t being so mindful about my romantic relationships, but that’s another story). Then when I really needed a kick in the ass about my creative life, actually making writing more of a priority than working, I was given the Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and for those who know me, I love Julia Cameron and I swear by Morning Pages.

journey

Each moment of my journey led me to getting that copy of the Artists Way and that led me to take risks I never thought of taking, like accepting a lay off so I could write full-time. When I was in my early twenties working in Jasper feeling very stuck with where I was and knew I should be writing, I asked the universe if I could write full-time but still get paid. This request took some time, about ten years, but I was patient, collecting experiences and learning. When it happened, all I said was “thank you”. I was so and still very grateful for that moment and that time to really sink into the creative life I had been living and really started to live.

Everything happens for a reason and each opportunity we are presented with we must choose what we do with that opportunity. Do you go through the door of the unknown or do you stick with the same door and float around with the feeling of disconnect? I’ll take the unknown please, I know what that feeling of lost and disconnect feels like and from my experiences, I will choose opportunity.

So what does this have to do with writing? Everything. We get to write about our experiences and share them with one another, what a great opportunity!

What opportunities have you taken that have brought you here? How do you feel about opportunities? This A to Z blogging challenge is a great opportunity! We get to connect with each other and share one another’s work, that’s more than a great opportunity, it’s more like a window of opportunity, we are in the right place at the right time and all of opportunities have brought us here and now. Thank you.

Until next time, keep on typing. . . .

Man typing an old typewriter
Man typing an old typewriter
3 thoughts on “O is for Opportunity

  1. I like what you said about how we write, we take advantage of the opportunity to tell our stories. Sometimes, I miss out on opportunities to write because I let distractions get in the way. I need to learn to seize the opportunities to write, as well as read.

    Like

  2. I love this post that encourages me to take opportunities as they come and not be afraid to take a risk rather than stay in a stagnant place. I have not read The Artist’s Way yet but have heard so many good things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy to hear you have been inspired – yeah! I recommend the Artist’s Way 150%! Julia Cameron has helped me out of the funk I was in for far too long and here I am. Love the creativity process!

      Like

Leave a Reply

