K is for Kindred Spirit

K

Being from Nova Scotia has filled me with a wealth of imagination much like Anne of Green Gables. I remember the first time I read the book, in a way I was like Anne Shirley, but really aren’t we all a bit like Anne? Filled with inspiration and imagination, I mean her mind never quit, much like my own. I am also an only child and I always craved a best friend, bosom buddy, a kindred spirit.

anne

I have very few close friends and we are spread across the country and even though we are apart we know we are there for one another. I have a close friend who I meet with every Sunday as our writing date. We get together, chat over coffee and then within a blink of an eye, no words spoken we are just typing away on what ever work in progress we have on the go. I love the creative process.

The one kindred spirit that I cherish is the creative spirit, the writing, the craft, and the kindred spirit I have with myself, the one relationship that I have to make sure is on track. If I am not writing that’s when I feel lonely.

pen

Not writing is the lonely thing. Not writing creates self-obsession. Self-obsession blocks connection with others. Self-obsession blocks connection with self. Writing is like looking at an inner compass. We check in and we get our bearings. Ah-ha! I am feeling, thinking, remembering. . . .When we know accurately what it is that we are doing, we tend to be more open, accurate, and affectionate in our dealings.  ~ Julia Cameron

I love this reminder from Julia Cameron, when I am writing, I am never alone. The creative kindred spirit and I are connecting and I’m growing and becoming the person I am, right here and now.

Until next time, keep on typing….

pink roses

 

One thought on “K is for Kindred Spirit

  1. When I read the title of your post, I immediately thought “Anne of Green Gables!” and true enough, you did mention Anne 🙂 I was in high school when I read Anne of Green Gables. Once I was done, I asked my best friend to read it too. When she was done, we both started referring to one another as kindred spirits, which we were. We both saw ourselves as Anne but in the end, she was more like Anne since she found her Gilbert 🙂
    Amelia
    @sonobeus
    Words From Sonobe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

