I is for imagination

I

Imagination: the faculty or action of forming new ideas, or images or concepts of external objects not present to the senses.

From a young age I’ve been told I have an imagination that doesn’t quit. I’m so grateful that this was planted within me, a small idea that has grown with me ever since I can remember. I’ve shared this story about the first story that I can remember when I knew I wanted to write stories for a living. When I was six or seven, my mother took me to see the first Annie movie with Carol Burnett. I was hooked. I loved the story, the songs, the potential of more of the story. I went home and wrote a little story how Annie went on to save the orphanage and stories about each of the girls in the orphanage.

Ideas spend eternity swirling around us, searching for available and willing human partners. When an idea thinks it has found somebody – say, you – who might be able to bring it into the world, the idea will pay you a visit. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

fog

When I hear and idea, or it pops into my head I know its not from me, it’s creativity sharing an idea with me and what I do with it then is up to me. There is no limit to my imagination, sometimes I have romantic, lovey-dovey ideas, and sometimes I have dark and off beat ideas that show up. Sometimes those dark ideas come through as life lessons and sometimes they are just ideas that need to be written down for a rainy day. Just this morning, it was very foggy and the first thing I thought of was, how the thick fog engulfing the trees would make for a great thriller movie, there really isn’t a limit to the imagination, let it have fun!

Until next time, keep on typing….

blue type

6 thoughts on “I is for imagination

  1. Imagination is so precious to a writer. I remember when I was in middle school, writing “detective” stories. A lot of my classmates said I had a good imagination. I used not to think so much about it until later on in life, when I was pursuing my Creative Writing degree. Imagination is a keystone to creativity, even if our stories are rooted in reality. The possibilities are endless when we think outside the box and let our imagination run wild. That’s what I like about video games like Little Big Planet and Super Mario Maker; they let the player create their own levels, making them as easy or difficult as they please. I think that’s also why role-playing games are so popular: you create your character, you can do pretty much whatever you want.

    Imagination is something that can be lost if we don’t nurture it. I think we nurture it by looking past our everyday existence; try to look at things from a new angle. That, in turn, fuels creativity. It’s a cycle.

    Thank you for this post. I needed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

