H is for Healing

H

H is for Healing

We should write because it is human nature to write. We should write because humans are spiritual beings and writing is a powerful form of prayer and meditation, connecting us both to our own insights and to a higher and deeper level of inner guidance. ~ Julia Cameron

Writing heals us. Writing has healed me. I go through spurts of writing for long periods of time and that’s when I feel truly alive, joyful, happy. When I write for five minutes at any time of the day, I feel truly alive, joyful, happy. The key is keep writing, even if I’m writing my morning pages and the blank page takes on my silly nonsense, at least I’m still writing and I’m showing up, I’m fulfilling my commitment to the creativity.

healing

Writing about attention, I see that I have written a good deal about pain. This is no coincidence. It may be different for others, but pain is what it took to teach me t pay attention. In times of pain, when the future is too terrifying to contemplate and the past too painful to remember, I have learned t pay attention to right now. ~ Julia Cameron

When I write about the past or any painful moments, even joyful moments I pay attention. I have “A-ha” moments, realizing that it was the past and it’s really all about right here and now. I am grateful for the experiences in my life and each moment has been a blessing in disguise. I am very grateful for what is being provided in this very moment. To be right here on the page, writing about the experiences, sharing these moments. Writing is about healing.

Until next time, keep on typing….

add

 

 

One thought on “H is for Healing

  1. Writing has been a wonderful healer. I remember a time when I was so mad at my family that I took my notebook and pen and drove to a Barnes and Noble. I remember writing out a scene where my character expressed his frustrations about his own family. After he was done, I killed him off.

    In writing that scene, I was in my own little world, writing as fast as I could. I wasn’t feeling that much hurt to a point where I wanted to harm myself, but it was therapeutic creating a character and placing him in a situation equal to my frustrations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

