E is for Experience

E

Everything we do, everything we encounter, what we are provided with is for experience. My mother would say, ‘everything happens for a reason….one doors closes for another one to open.’ At first I didn’t like this saying, but then I as my ex-boyfriend was cheating on me and moving across the country for a job that he never told me about until the very last-minute and saying ‘don’t worry baby, we’ll figure it out, we always do…’ I found myself thinking ‘everything happens for a reason; this door might be closing so there will be another door opening soon.’ I cursed the notion of my mothers pre-planted motherly psychology, but was so blessed that she said it over and over, jus to make sure I was paying attention, and guess what? These little notions got me over more than a cheating ex-boyfriend, leaving for a job across the country and not telling me until the very last-minute.

flower

Writing about those experiences is what I’ve come to grow passionate about. I’m trying harder and harder to get the facts down, to not write at an arm’s length, to share the experiences. I have studied with a great guru and one of the sayings at the ashram is ‘a sharing in you is a sharing in me’ I take this as if you share an experience with me, then that sharing will help me with my experience. Sharing with conscious company can be very humbling and rewarding. Sharing heartache over our writing with other writers has helped me a long the way. I have listened to several writers share their personal stories of how they started writing, why they write, their joys and heartaches of writing. This is a great thing for me, I know that I’m not the only one out there going through the same thing. I am grateful for this. I am grateful to know that I’m not the only who has some great idea rolling around in my mind and when I get to the page it comes out all wrong until it comes out right. The experience of just writing will come around and the words will follow as they are meant to be.

Until next time, keep on typing….

old type

One thought on “E is for Experience

  1. Experience is perhaps one of the best teaching tools. It tells us how we can improve ourselves; how not to strive for perfection because it is impossible to attain. At the same time, it tells us that it can be an endless cycle if we keep doing the wrong thing over and over. I know I struggle with this, even with prior experience. The best thing we can do is to learn from experience and use it to make us grow.

    Like

Leave a Reply

