This is….

page

This is where I come to share my story, as a writer, how I can write for hours or days, weeks, and month without distraction. This is where I come to share when I am off track and feel like I’m struggling as a writer, a human being. I share with you because we are all the same, we have our ups and downs and everything in between. I love to read about writing and share with you these concepts, these ideas, the magic of it all, the magic of creativity. I also would love t hear from you, how do you deal with your creativity? Do you have a-ha moments when you are in the zone, when you’re writing and just know you in the right place at he right moment? Do you have moments where you want to pull your hair out and scream ‘what am I doing?!” Sure you do, because I do, and so do other writers. This is where we can come to share, to learn, to be.

laptop

The blank page is a great thing to me, it’s waiting for a story to be written, to be shared. The blank page is waiting for the words to be given birth to, to tell a story and let the story take a life of its own. It begins with one word, followed by another word, and another, and another….the emotions, the back stories, the love, the joy, the fear, the darkness, all show up on the page and it comes from creativity through you. Elizabeth Gilbert shares that creativity wants to be made and it wants to be made through you. Isn’t that beautiful? Simply magical.

stuck-in-mud

Before I started this post, I was feeling a little bit stuck. I haven’t really been writing, but I have been. I have to remind myself that I write morning pages every morning before I start my day. I write here, I write ideas in a notebook, a scrap piece of paper, or quick turn on my voice notes on my phone to get the idea down. I’m writing. I have been editing more these days and that’s okay, I have to tell the ego to take a break and go on a very long walk and don’t bother coming back for a while. Easier said than done. The ego is a tricky little thing and sometimes I’m a victim to my over-eager, panic-stricken ego – always thinking I”m not doing much, when in fact I’m doing as much as I can be doing, and yes, I can be doing more, and I’m working on that. I just mean that I am aware that the ego is trying to slide back in to make things comfortable. Writing is hard and the ego will just have to take a hike while the true self takes over and prevails – this is where I fist pump and say ‘booyah’!

booyah

This is where I come to tell myself, it’s okay, you’re writing so shut up and keep writing. So here I am writing. I have a stack of writing books next to me where I was planning to pick out a few tips and tricks to share with you, like this one from Big Magic:

Speak it. Let it (creativity) know you’re there. Hell, let you know you’re there – because this statement of intent is just as much an announcement to yourself as it is an announcement to the universe or anybody else. Hearing this announcement, your soul will mobilize accordingly. It will mobilize ecstatically, in fact because this is what your soul was born for.

shout it out

Don’t you just want to stand up and yell out ‘YES! This is what my soul is born for! I am ready!’ I was meant to be creative and I’m committed to live a creative life right here on the page and like a pebble in the ocean, the ripple effect takes over. I am so ready! Are you ready? One great quote or question I love to remind myself of is:

If not now? When?

Until next time, keep on typing….

type

 

4 thoughts on “This is….

  1. I enjoy those moments where I’m in a creative flow; where the words just pour out and I can’t find the urge to stop. Lately, that hasn’t been the case. Right now, I am feeling stuck. I haven’t done any journaling and I put my stories in park, preparing for the A to Z Challenge that starts in a few days. But reading this has given me some inspiration to write a post about what I’m feeling before the challenge begins. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you again for sharing, I am happy that you are able to write something before the A to Z challenge (I’m interested in this challenge, can you send me some information please.) When you are feeling stuck, put pen to paper and just write, I’m feeling stuck, over and over and see what develops. I’ll be interested 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

