Close your eyes

i-love-music

I love music, I’m sure you do too. There is something about music that moves me, as I listen to a song or concert or orchestra, I listen deeply and the creativity fills me with joy, this can be said about writing as well. I was introduced to another great  writer through Julia Cameron, there was a quote from Natalie Goldberg that peeked my interest.

listen

You listen so deeply to the space around you that it fills you, and when you write, it pours our of you. If you can capture that reality around you, your writing needs nothing else….Listen to the past, future, and present right where you are. Listen with your whole body, not only with your ears, but with your hands, your face, and the back of your neck. ~ Natalie Goldberg

sitting

There are times I am sitting by the ocean, I close my eyes and I listen. I listen deeply. I listen with my entire body, I can feel the waves fall onto shore and fill my body with each eb and flow of the tide. I am connected, I hear the ocean whisper a story, or maybe one of the characters has something to say about that moment. Do they love the ocean as much as I do? This is my truth, I can’t not lie. I can not deny my truth, my creativity.

Above all, don’t lie to yourself. The man who lies to himself and listens to his own lie comes to a point where he cannot distinguish the truth within him or around him, and so loses respect for himself. And having no respect, he ceases to love. ~ Fyodor Dostoevsky

424059.TIF
424059.TIF

As I read Mary Karr’s ‘The Art of Memoir’ I realize I am a memorist, I like to tell stories of my childhood and I crave to tell them with ease, painless for the reader as I bleed onto the page, all my raw, nasty darkness mixed with my naive rainbow colored glasses. I have a deep imagination filled with a lot of experiences and day dreams. I write to share the truth of who I am, I write to tell how I feel, even if it’s scary for me, I’d rather have it scary than not share at all, that’s fear and I want to to dissolve fear by doing what I’m meant to be doing. Writing. Nothing is too small or mundane.

mundane

We think of detail as small, not the realm of the cosmic mind or these big hills of New Mexico. That isn’t true. No matter how large a thing is, how fantastic, it is also ordinary. We think of details as daily and mundane. Even miracles are mundane happenings that an awakened mind can see in a fantastic way. ~ Natalie Goldberg

flower

Everything is a story and the smallest moment is a miracle to share. I come in contact with so many people on a daily basis at the hotel I work at; someone’s vacation, business trip, break up dinner, engagement moment is special no matter the outcomes – the other night I was sitting at my desk and a couple sits on the sofa just outside my office and the woman’s voice reaches my ears first ‘you never listen to me, if you only listened to me….’ the man tried to talk low but she didn’t care ‘if you only listened to me then we wouldn’t have this conversation….you never listen to me.’ This is a conversation with a lot of past, circumstances, experiences with one another. I don’t know how they feel, but my imagination starts the story and all of a sudden the woman is annoying me with her constant accusations towards her husband or maybe he’s a lover. I don’t know there story, but my alter ego speculates and starts to create a story. It may not be a very nice story, but it started off nice and romantic, but in moment, on the sofa with her pointed judgement and his tail between his legs, there is a story. How will it start? How will it end? Great questions for a great story. Forget the traditional story.

train

Forget yourself. Disappear into everything you look at – a street, a glass of water, a cornfield. Everything you feel, become totally that feeling, burn all yourself with it. Don’t worry – your ego will quickly become nervous and stop such ecstasy. But if you can catch that feeling or smell or sight the moment you are one with it, you probably will have a great poem. ~ Natalie Goldberg

Forget yourself and just write – the ego will try to out smart you and say stuff like ‘oh, cleaning the bathroom is a good idea right now…” bullshit! The bathroom can wait, creativity can not wait, it will not wait. I am ready! Let the writing begin.

Until next time, keep on typing….

woman-BW-typewriter

 

Leave a Reply

