Write Away

books

I am a bit obsessed with writing books, about writing, the creative life, really anything about writing I’m interested in. I’ve been very dedicated to Julia Cameron’s , Artist’s Way and now Elizabeth Gilbert’s, Big Magic. Both books pluck at my heart strings, my creative heart strings, they speak their truth, which is my truth. I went to the library to pick up one book I had on hold and then randomly went to the non-fiction/reference section and glided my hand along the spins of the books, sometimes the speak to me, one book will be out a little more, maybe that’s the one I need to read or flip through for the answer to a question I might need yet I haven’t asked. The universe is great that way. Books are even better because they are ideas that have been given to someone to share. The idea has something to share and it won’t stop until someone writes it down.

light

Ideas are everywhere if you remain alive to them. I also get mine from intriguing newspaper stories, from a beguiling turn of phrase, from some topic I find interesting and wish to pursue, something I’ve heard but never forgotten. The point is that I work with the idea. It doesn’t plop into my head all of a piece, as a finished plot line. I think about it and ask myself questions about it until I can develop it into an expanded idea ~ Elizabeth George

conversations

Much like Big Magic, the idea of the idea looking for someone to write it down is not far off. Creativity is alive and we have to be open to it. I have so many ideas that my head spins at times. I love the image of ‘something I’ve heard but never forgotten’, this is so true for me. I’ve heard so many conversations, overheard lovers fight, make up, friends cry, parents talk about their children, I’m sure I’ve overheard more than one story idea in my time, remember I work at a hotel, the mecca for idea and lost conversations in translation.

slavishly_devoted_to_my_muse

 

Writing is not only intellectual endeavor for me, it’s also very much a physical one. When I’m on the right story, the right location, the right situation, the right theme, my body tells me. I feel a surge of excitement in my solar plexus that literally sends the message; yes, yes, yes to my brain. Until I feel tat surge of inner excitement, I remain in the pre-plotting stage simply because I have nothing to plot about. ~Elizabeth George

magic

 

This is so true for me! I feel so much energy when I’m in the moment, the zone of creativity takes over and in a blink of an eye two hours have quickly passed by. I love that feeling! I strive for those moments each time I sit down and write. I believe that if I just sit down and let creativity take over, that state of pure bliss just happens. The first writing book I can recall that I fell deeply in love with was an is Stephen King’s, On Writing. So many A-Ha moments that my copy of the book looks like it’s been in the washing machine a few hundred times. It’s dogged eared, highlighted, sticky notes sticking from all sides, I love it!

OrangeGirlUmbrella

Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life, as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting over. Getting happy, okay? Getting Happy…if you’re brave enough to start, you will. Writing is magic, as much the water of life is any other creative art. The water is free. So drink. Drink and be filled up. ~ Stephen King, On Writing

There you have it my friends, writing is magic. Writing is about getting happy, okay? Getting Happy.

Until next time, keep on typing….

misery

2 thoughts on “Write Away

  1. G. R. McNeese

    I love the feeling when creativity takes over and I cannot stop writing. I’m not at the point where I obsess over it, though. Perhaps, I will. Nothing brings me more joy than writing something I generated in my mind. I kind of ache when I reach a stopping point because I don’t want to stop until I get it all down.

    For now, I obsess over short stories. One day, I will obsess over getting that novel on paper.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment