What you resist….persits

dont

Creativity is persistent, it wants to be made and it wants to be made through you, Elizabeth Gilbert has shared this idea in her latest creative book, Big Magic. It’s not a concept that is new to me, I am aware, I’ve been aware, that creativity has been holding me close, constantly whispering in my ear, I listen, I write, I manifest, yet I don’t take it a step further by sharing the idea with others, I’m working on this.

night

So you must keep trying. You must keep calling out in those dark woods for your own Big Magic. You must search tirelessly and faithfully, hoping against hope to someday experience that divine collision of creative communion – either for the first time, or one more time. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

med

Practice, practice, practice and more practice – that’s what you do to get better. My guru, A Ramana, who studied Ramana Maharshi’s teaching, said it takes practice to dissolve the ego and experience the true self, be right here and now. It’s a simple concept, to practice – must like writing at times. It takes practice, practice to be with your craft, let the creativity flow through you, speak to you, be with you.

journal-writing-2

Trust me, your soul has been waiting for you to wake up to your own existence for years.  But you must be the one to start that conversation, and then you must feel entitled to stay in that conversation. – constantly reminding and re-reminding my soul and the cosmos that I’m very serious about the business of creative living, and that I will never stop creating, no matter what the outcome, and no matter how deep my anxieties and insecurities may be. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

listen

I’m very serious about my creative life and I’m even more serious about living a creative life. Every day I put creativity first when possible and then all of a sudden creativity puts its self first and I let it, I let the words flow onto the page as the ideas and inspiration whisper clearly into my ears. What do you do to put creativity first or does it take over you, naturally.

Until next time, keep on typing….

write

2 thoughts on “What you resist….persits

  1. Puttung creativity first does not come easy to me. I have to plan it out. Getting up in the morning to write is not always feasible, so I try to get it in on my breaks at work.

    There are some days where creativity comes naturally. Those days are rare. When they happen, it’s as if nothing can keep me from writing, and I hate when I have to set a stopping point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I understand how you feel. When I started to write morning pages, I didn’t always do them right away in the morning. I would go to the gym, get ready for work and then rush through the morning pages, sometimes not completing the three suggested pages. Then once I made writing priority, the creativity took over and I just started waking up and going right to my morning pages.
      Now, working on other works in progress is another story – haha! I also have to plan, set the intention of when I am going to edit, write, research, it’s all one big balancing act – sometimes I drop the balls, but I think, as long as I’m trying my best I’m okay.
      One step at a time 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

