A little magic

2016

It has been a full week of this New Year and I am truly grateful for such great possibilities of 2016!

book

I went to the book store to get a calendar (I wait until after January 1st to buy one, they are always on sale after the New Year), as I was wandering around the store, because that’s my bliss, to be in a book store wandering around all the books; then the title Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert entered my mind for the second time that day. I had placed a hold on the book at the local library but I thought ‘I’m 101 on the wait list, why wait when I’m right here in the book store?’ I didn’t question too long, I found the book and the page I flipped open basically grabbed me by the collar and said ‘yeah, this needs to be read now.’ There were a few pages that I flipped through while I waited in line to purchase my items and I witnessed myself smiling and nodding my head and thinking ‘oh yeah that’s me. You’re so right!’

I believe that inspiration will always try its best to work with you – but if you are not ready or available, it may indeed choose to leave you and to search for a different human collaborator. ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

creative

There have been so many times that I’ve been given an idea for a TV show, or an episode, or a movie a book, a short story, even a song; I didn’t act on the idea fast enough and bam! The next season of the TV show that I thought about was written, the loose concept of a movie I thought about was written and now on the big screen. I can recall this happened a lot when I was younger and still does happen, however I am aware from reading Julia Cameron’s, The Artist’s Way. I have experienced inspiration giving me a gift and if I don’t take action I feel the idea slipping away. As I started to read Big Magic, I kept nodding my head, thinking, ‘Exactly!

As we write, digging ourselves out of denial, our memories, dreams, and creative plans all move to the surface. We discover anew that we are creative beings….We are intended to create. ~ Julia Cameron

blow

Yes, we are intended to create. We are here to share stories that inspiration, the universe, the creative muse (whatever you want to label it as), provides to us to share. I have this one story that pops up once an awhile and when I start working on it I get excited. I want to spend all day and night writing, I’m excited to see where the characters take me, take each other, I’m over joyed with the idea and how it’s just there and I’m writing it down. I’m in the ‘zone’.

vintage-paris-ladies-coffee-shop1

When you know you’re meant to be doing something you will do it and you will do it in every spare moment you have. You may lose friends because they don’t understand your will, your explainable desire to be with your passion. You ask friends and family to meet you in coffee shops where you spend most of your time writing and people watching (I’m a people watcher). You tend to avoid or decline social activities because you know if you don’t write that idea down that story will be written by someone else and you want to be the one who shares the story that has been graciously given to you.

Ideas are alive, that ideas do seek the most available human collaborator, that ideas do have a conscious will, that ideas do move from sol to soul, that ideas will always try to seek the swiftest and most efficient conduit to the earth (just like lightning does). ~ Elizabeth Gilbert

maui

I believe this. I believe it because I’ve felt an idea slip in, I’ll give you an example. My husband and I were in Maui (the first time) and I was hit with this great story line for what I think would be a fun movie. I wrote like mad, I mean when he went golfing, those four hours breezed by and he went golfing at least five times in a week and I was left with about hundred or so pages of dialogue that felt so right. I knew it needed to be sculpted and formatted, but the idea of the story was there and it felt like I did nothing at all. What a great feeling!

snorkeling-molokini1

The second time we were in Maui we went on a half day excursion on a boat and as we made our way to Molokini Crater, I watched this young girl flirt with the captain of the boat, I giggled to myself as my husband made a comment about the girl and captain and as I saw the captain disregard her flirtatious attempts I felt an idea rush into me, like a slap in the face, but in a good way ‘here you go’ was what I thought and I scribbled a few things down before we got ready to dive into the ocean and snorkel with the fish and turtles. The story was right there in front of me. I finished that story before we flew home back to Victoria. It can happen that fast. The sad thing is that I haven’t done very much with either idea. Sure I wrote them down but I haven’t submitted them anywhere and that is ignoring the idea and inspiration may give the ideas to someone else and I would be the only one responsible for me not doing something about the ideas. So, now I’m ready to go back to the stories and see if I can put them together and start submitting them, because they deserve to be shared.

big magic

As you can tell, Big Magic is pretty inspiring to me and I’m not even finished reading it, so I better get back to it and get ready for the ideas to share them selves. Have you felt inspiration whisper or call out to you? Has inspiration called upon you

Until next time, keep on typing….

cat-on-typewriter

One thought on “A little magic

  1. Sometimes, inspiration strikes at the most inopportune moments, like when I’m at work. I’m not always able to get to my phone and record even a thought. But there are moments where inspiration hits at just the right time.

    I used to believe there was a muse guiding, or not guiding, me to what I should write. I don’t believe that so much now. I believe inspiration comes and goes. I think you have to pay attention to what’s going on around you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

