Practice, practice, and practice some more!

making-changes

Change leads to disappointment if it is not sustained. Transformation is sustained change, and it is achieved through practice. ~ B.K.S. Iyengar

commitment

How do I want to start this new year? The simple answer is to write more, and that requires practice. To maintain the routine of getting up writing morning pages and then continuing to write at least 750 words a day. To just sit my ass down and write. How many ways can I say this? Probably several ways, but it’s a very simple intention – just sit down and write.

birthday_cupcake

It was my birthday on January 1st and I’m use to a very quiet birthday, being on a day where everyone is recovering from the New Year Eve’s celebrations. I took great refuge to be by myself most birthday’s until I turned of age to be able to spend all hours of the night out partying.  My mother would have my birthday parties after school started again in January, trying to organize a birthday party during the Christmas holiday’s is not an easy task, believe me I’ve tried and it’s so much easier to postpone the whole thing until at least the first week of January.

fnd_New-Years-Eve-Champagne_s4x3_lg

Then when I started to work at hotel resorts as server, on New Year’s Eve we would make our way to the kitchen around 11:55pm to open champagne and toast in the new year together, servers bussers, and kitchen staff -my family for a few years. We would leave our guests at their tables, they didn’t care, they were drinking and celebrating to their own tune. When midnight struck, everyone would kiss and then sing happy birthday to me. I felt very special those years, and don’t get me wrong, I feel very special every day. There was something very John Hughes about the moment, being surrounded by friends and mountains, it was a magical time. I am grateful to be able to share these moments with you, the memories warm my heart.

pen-paper-1

I received special gifts this year and one gift that literally brought me to tears. A beautiful gift bag filled with a writing kit; pens, highlighters, sticky notes, note books, hot chocolate, candles and all those little things that we as writers use in our daily routines. I am very grateful. I opened the pens and started to use them right away, there is something about a new pen, a fresh start, this new pen is going to inspire me to write more, longer, better. This pen is magic and going to move mountains, or write about them. I love pens and sheets of paper.

yoga-purple-original-960x360

It is day two of this fresh new year and I’m feeling a shift already. The commitment of writing every day is setting in and I’m itching to get going, to get the words down on the page.

The deepest secret in our heart of hearts is that we are writing because we love the world. ~ Natalie Goldberg

How many more books might get written if we believed that writers could write out of love, our of glee, out of bliss – or even out of simple fondness? It is my belief that writing is a way to bless and to multiply our blessings. I cherish letters, postcards, faxes, notes and every Post-its from my friends. ~ Julia Cameron

positive-post-it-campaign

I couldn’t agree more with Julia. Writing is a way to bless and to multiply our blessings. A sharing in you is a sharing in me. I hope to be sharing more and more. It was my intention to write more and to share even more. So here I am, no more hiding and if you think I’m not forth coming, call me out on it. I must be accountable for my writing and I must be able to trust myself to let it all down on the page. It feels good to commit to this writing challenge. I’m ready to take another step for my creativity, for creativity, for love and the love of writing. What are you ready for this New Year? Do you have goals or intentions? I’d love to hear from you.

Until next time, keep on typing….

the-writers-desk-debra-and-dave-vanderlaan

 

Leave a Reply

