Happy New Year!

365

Happy New Year! It’s 2016 and I’m sure everyone is thinking about setting some resolutions, goals or solid intentions, right? I’m not one for resolutions. I use to be, but not anymore. Not after the disappointment in myself for not losing that 10-15lbs I vowed I would lose in the first month of January. Or when I was in high-school, I really wanted to be nicer to people when deep down I didn’t care of other people, and a few years ago sharing with more than myself, in a group of people, that I would write a poetry book, now five years later has turned into a memoir manuscript and still is not published, but it will be. Maybe not today, but defiantly tomorrow sometime.

heart in hand

I haven’t made any New Year’s resolutions for a long time. I make life changes, little by little I am becoming a better person than I was yesterday and that feels great. I’m sitting on our sofa in the living room while my husband is in our bedroom playing on the drums. He is learning, and I thank the people above for electric drums that all I hear is a tapping, a tapping that is making a sound, a tune, a person’s heart beat a little faster with excitement, because they are doing what they love. My husband loves to make music, I can just image how revved up he becomes when he sits down with his drums. Isn’t that a nice image, a person having an intimate moment with their passion. We are doing what we set out to be doing, be creative, share our creativity, create, be. This is my intention, not a resolution, an intention.

intention

Resolution: the mental state or quality of being resolved or resolute; firmness of purpose: She showed her resolution by not attending the meeting.

Intention: a thing intended; an aim or plan. She was full of good intentions.

typewriter-300x203

I fulling intend to write every day, be it my morning pages of three pages or take a writing challenge of at least 500 words a day or even 750-1000 words a day. If I have to post here everyday to get the words down, so be it. I deserve to follow through on my intentions, more like my creativity deserves me following through on my intentions. (Insert little cheerleader here)

What is your preference? Are you making resolutions or intending on something for the New Year? Grab your passion and do what makes you shine bright!

Until Next time, keep on typing….

typing

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I wrote a post about resolutions I wanted to see come to fruition this year. Perhaps, I should have used “intentions” because most of the “resolutions” are intentions. For example, I want to start writing a novel. I’ve shared this with so many people. Whether or not I actually start this novel is uncertain, but it’s something I want to do. It’s a goal. I guess the one “resolution” I have is to write for fifteen minutes a day. That’s a resolution that sounds attainable.

    I have a lot of “intentions” for this year. I hope I can meet them all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing – it’s great to hear from you. Intentions come from your heart and I think your intention of writing 15 minutes a day will turn into that novel you are going to write. Have fun with the words and intend on following through with your goals.

      Like

Leave a Reply

