Back to Center

merry

The holiday’s can be stressful for a lot of people. I watched people huffing around a store trying to figure out if the last-minute gift is going to be worth it or not. I watched people rush around trying to figure out what they will buy their loved ones or maybe they are not even rushing around because of the holiday’s, maybe they are feeling the stress that is lingering around from the beginning of the holidays. I know I’m highly sensitive to other people’s energy, and trying to maintain my own balance can be a bit of a challenge during this time of year. Then I remember, take a deep breath and start self-inquiry meditation by asking ‘who is aware?’ I am instantly brought back to center. I run to the page and write as fast as I can, get on the page what is swirling around on in my head, the stress I feel about the holidays, where I work, my friendships, my relationship with my husband and with myself. If I don’t write it down then I shut down not only to myself but those around me. I must write. Julia Cameron asks ‘ why should we write?’

Tea-and-meditation_watercolor-illustration

We should write because it is human nature to write. Writing claims our world. It makes it directly and specifically our own. We should write because humans are spiritual beings and writing is  powerful form of prayer and meditation, connecting us both to our own insights and to a higher and deeper level of inner guidance as well. ~ Julia Cameron.

meditation

I recently had a friendship go sideways. I won’t get into the details because really it’s all very human like emotions and as a writer, the one who sees things from the outside, I knew better. I’ve been struggling with this particular friendship for some time and I did let go of it for a time, then very ego like, I thought I could go back and it would be different, what’s that definition of insanity again? Oh yeah, you keep doing the same thing over and over again thinking it’s going to change. It doesn’t and I kept going back for more. No wonder I was acting more and more like a stressed out human being, and not an active writer who can spill her guts onto the page, bleed, spit and cry onto the page how I feel. I forgot to do the one thing that brought me back to center. Writing.

ocean

We should write because writing brings clarity and passions to the act of living. Writing is sensual, experiential, grounding. We should write because writing is good for the soul. We should write because writing yields us a body of work, a felt path through the world we live in. We should write, above all, because we are writers whether we call ourselves writers or not. The Right to Write is a birthright, a spiritual dowry that gives us the key to the kingdom. Higher forces speak to us through writing. Call them inspiration, the Muses, Angels, God, Hunches, Intuition, Guidance, or simply a good story – whatever you call them, they connect use to something larger than ourselves hat allows us to live with greater vigor and optimism. ~ Julia Cameron

Booyah!

Now that Christmas is come and gone, the New Year is just around the corner. My 42nd birthday is on January 1st and I’m looking forward to 2016. A fresh year, a fresh start to the goals that hold close to my heart. I will take a closer look at my relationships not only with friends and family, but with myself. A good friend of mine have a long-standing writing date ever Sunday morning and we just talked about how we both need to just sit our asses down and write. It’s a very simple statement and goal for my New Year, but it’s going to be the best goal I achieve in 2016!

desk

What are your goals for 2016? Do you set goals for yourself and want to be a better writer? Do you have a secret on how to sit down and write without distraction? I’d love to hear from you.  A sharing in you is a sharing in me.

Until next time, keep on typing…..

type

5 thoughts on “Back to Center

  1. I really related to this, especially the part about letting go of a friend. I did that too, and like you I went back to the friendship before I left it for good. When I did, I felt such relief I knew it was the right thing to do.

    I focused on happiness the holiday and did not feel stressed at all. It was amazing. As for goals, I need to finish revisions on one of my works and start querying. Write more, stress less.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing Lauren. Once we make a decision to take the right steps towards a healthier life the universe will provide the support and everything will unfold as it is to be.
      Write more, stress less – I couldn’t have said it any better. Thank you again for sharing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The pursuit to being a better writer is something we all should strive for. I feel like I’ve grown this year, but I know I have much room for improvement. I have two main goals for 2016. First, write a draft for a novel. Second, write more short stories for my blog. Both are going to take time, energy, and creativity. I hope I’m up to the task.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

