Going Somewhere

nov

As November settles in and the trees turn their fiery shades of red, yellow and oranges, I am settling more into the creativity. Even though the air is cool, my creativity is flowing with warmth, swiftly through my veins. I am reminded how much inspiration surrounds me, every day, every where. The little things like two elderly men sitting on a bench in a memorial park, they are talking and smiling. I ask myself the ‘what if’ questions, my inspiration is quickly ahead of me already creating a story of the men’s meeting. Julia Cameron speaks about our inspiration.

old-man-park-bench

We are intended to be conduits for inspiration. There are high thoughts and high intentions and higher realms that can speak to us through us if we allow it. When our ego and our ego-driven fears are given a central place as regards our art, we have rolled a large boulder into our own way, and our career cannot unfold unimpeded because if must divide to make its way with unnatural intensity and velocity around the boulder settled in the steam of our good. On rivers and in the rivers of creative flow, such rapids are treacherous. We are far better served by being of service. 

Value-Equals-Service1

I am very aware that I am in service. I love to help people and I am able to share so much more through the words on the page, then I am when talking. Does that speak true for you as well?

There is a sense of knowing I’m going somewhere when I’m writing, and when I’m writing more and at longer periods of time, the creativity lingers with me as I go on about my day, at work, at the gym, in the grocery store. I’m more at peace, a sense of just knowing I’m doing what I’m meant to be doing.

tracks

So much of an artist’s career hinges on the sense that we are going somewhere, that we are not just trapped by the four walls of wherever we are. For creative sanity, I must believe that if I just do the next right thing, a path will unfold for me. I must believe there is a divine plan for me and my work. As an artist, I must believe in higher forces, sources of inspiration, movements of destiny. I must believe in something larger and wiser than myself. Some artists believe in God. Others believe in Art. No matter what we call it, a belief in it is necessary for our sheer artist survival. ~ Julia Cameron

 Monsters

I know I’ve been chosen to write, to share stories and I’m very aware that I’m not holding up my part of the bargain at times. I work at my day job too long, I workout too much, I watch a little too much Netflix. Human stuff, regular human living when the spiritual being is crying out to just sit down and write. The key is balance. I am committed to write every day and for more than fifteen minutes, each day I get stronger and stronger and I have to remind myself of these days, because there will be moments where I slip into that ego-related crack and the next thing I know is I’ve watch a whole season of ‘The Walking Dead” feeling very much like a zombie, gnawing away at a hunger that can never be fed. Well it certainly can, by writing, I’m feeding my passion and she is very content with the entire act of writing. The key is to keep writing, it will unlock what is behind the door I am avoiding, but know I have to open. What’s behind the door? Who knows, I’ll keep on typing to find out.

Until next time, keep on typing….

Old Desk Vintage Typewriter:desk, desktop, room, typing machine, typewriter, typing, author, writer, vintage, history, aged, lamp, dark, interior, workplace, furniture, calculating, bank, banking, accountant, accounting, old, nostalgia, wood, wooden, home, chair, business, horizontal
Old Desk Vintage Typewriter:desk, desktop, room, typing machine, typewriter, typing, author, writer, vintage, history, aged, lamp, dark, interior, workplace, furniture, calculating, bank, banking, accountant, accounting, old, nostalgia, wood, wooden, home, chair, business, horizontal
Leave a Reply

