Listening

eavesdropping2
I’m listening….My Daily Writing Challenge:
I love using the Observation Deck for little bursts of writing energy. One of my favourite cards is: Eavesdrop.
Many of us as writers confess the listen to other people’s conversations. In cafe’s, on elevators, in the street. We learn the rhythms, the jargon, the concerns of people that we may not otherwise understand. As I create and listen, I am being led….One great creative affirmation from The Artist’s way by Julia Cameron. Every day I am being led as I create and listen, it’s not just an affirmation for me, it’s a way of life. Sometimes I wonder if I can turn my creative light switch on and off. No. I can’t. My creativity is always on, sometimes it’s not as bright, but my creativity is always on, never far away. There is no hiding from creativity.
walking
Working at a hotel is great for me. There are conversations happening all around me – I think I’ve shared this before; one night there was a woman sitting in the lobby near my office and she says “I didn’t know you loved me that much.” Wow, one little sentence kick started my imagination. Another confession: I sometimes stand in lines at the grocery store and just listen. It helps me get closer to my characters and to the story to be told. I love the creative process!
love
Julia Cameron speaks about writing daily:                                                                             Daily writing, writing simply for the sake of writing, is like keeping a pot of soup on the back of the stove, it is always there, always ready to be tasted, always ready to be added to, always nourishing, savoury, life-sustaining. Like soup, your daily writing doesn’t have to be fancy. A few simple ingredients are enough. Honesty, observations, and imagination are the three ingredients that are the staples. They make up the broth, the basic stock that the rest comes from and adds to.
soup_steam_pot
Don’t you just love that image of a pot of soup simmering on the back of the stove? Like the soup, stories, characters, ideas linger around the back of the mind and we keep adding to it, asking questions, what if she does that, what if he says this? The possibilities are limitless, just as the creative flow continues onwards, so does our imagination. I know mine does.
Until next time, keep on typing….
gypsy-rose-lee-1941-women-at-typewriter
Leave a Reply

