Just do it!

sub

I’ve been submerging into Julia Cameron’s, Vein of Gold and have been listening to some her past interviews and I love when she says “I like Nike’s slogan, Just do it!” I love this idea as well, I will encourage my friends who ask me how I have kept up my creativity routines and I will say “I just do it.” I just write, I pick up a pen and put it to paper and see what happens.  I am one of those writers who can sit down and write pages and pages of dialogue, a story idea, I get a whisper from a possible character and I just go for it and see what happens. I am also a writer who pumps out the words and then goes back to shape the story, I don’t get the entire story from start to finish, I will get maybe an ending or the climax of the story, or even the first chapter and nothing more.

littleboy

Sometimes this is frustrating because I start to blame someone or something for giving me the entire story, but it is up to me to do the work to shape the story, to do research to give the idea more thought and attention. Writing can but also can not be easy. The truth is you have to be willing to put the work in and being here on the page is part of the work, work that I love and doesn’t even feel like work and that’s the key. Don’t forget that what you want to do has work involved, nothing is handed to you on a silver platter. Have faith in your creativity. Be open to the possibilities.

As long as we remain closed to the possibility of spiritual help in our unfolding, we are choosing to operate off the battery pack of our limited resources. When we open to spiritual assistance – however tentatively, however experimentally – we tap into unlimited supply. No longer restricted by the circumstances of our birth (or our current life, for that matter) we are able to receive sustenance, guidance, and even material resources that support our dreams and our flowering. ~ Julia Cameron

bucket

I am very aware that I don’t want to be working with limited resources, I have my arms wide open to accept the unlimited resources that have been helping me from the very start. I have gone through many shifts, shifts of emotions, transformation of the old self to this true self that is full of creativity to share. I have spoken about this before but I seem to have to remind myself that I was very aware at an early age of my creativity, that I wanted to write, to share the stories that I’ve been blessed with. I realized that I am in my own way, the old self still lingers around like a bad boyfriend that just doesn’t go away until we stand up and say “Enough is Enough!” the universe hears this and synchronicity begins, the resources needed start showing up and all I have to do is accept them. So again I ask, why am I still sitting here with an unfinished manuscript, seemingly avoiding my true self?

find-your-voice

We don’t always know what makes us happy. We know, instead, what we think should. We are baffled and confused when our attempts at happiness fail. We get the dream job and it is a nightmare. We find we miss the dead-end job we left behind. We finally purchase a swank new condo with high-rise views, only to find we miss the old back porch on the railroad flat we shed like a seedy coat. What’s going on here? Shouldn’t we be smarter? How could we be so…dumb?

We are dumb, no question, but only in the sense of being mute. We are mute when it comes to naming accurately our own preferences, delights, gifts, talents. The voice of our original self is often muffled., overwhelmed, even strangled, by the voices of other people’s expressions. The tongue of the original self is the language of the heart. It is the purpose of this book to amplify that voice. ~ Julia Cameron

a hold

I have been looking for my voice for some time, I knew it was within me, I just had to find and I did. I was given opportunities to try something new like take a playwright class and my voice was heard, right up there on a stage with actors speaking my words. What an experience, what joy, fear, excitement, everything that comes with the birth of your work, the birth of your voice. I admit I have taken some creative U-turns and slipped between the cracks of the old self and her nasty bad habits of fear and wanting to crawl back to the comfortable space where she doesn’t have to the work, just sitting on her ass watching TV, wasting time on the internet, randomly pacing the house, anything to avoid sitting down to actually write. I have to kick my own ass and sit down and write. Here I am. Thank goodness!

Until next time, keep on typing….

woody

Leave a Reply

