Pre-Thanksgiving Thoughts

thanks

The bird is now in the fridge to slowly un-thawing for Sunday’s Thanksgiving dinner. As I was at the market this morning people were shopping for their turkey dinners. Brussel sprouts, turnips, and carrots in one basket, potatoes, parsnips and broccoli in another; couples discussing what they would be making for their vegan friends, spaghetti squash and mashed potatoes (Made me laugh as I think about a line from Woody Allen’s – Annie Hall – yes I can make relate pretty much anyhing to Annie Hall)

Annie-Hall

The other thing I do a lot is people watch. We all do it. As a writer, people watching is one of my part-time jobs and if I could get paid to people watch, well that would be just great. Admit, you’d love to get paid to watch people. I get a lot of story ideas by watching people, it could be something as simple as the woman who carefully looks at each apple when she is grocery shopping, but there is something about this woman that we don’t know, I don’t know and the “what if” question appears and then an inclining of a story shows up and I’m off and running, well more like typing….

grocery-shopping

So, I was watching people at the market, picking up their fresh turkey’s from the butcher and sharing when family was showing up, children arriving home from university. I love this exchange with people, holidays bring out something in people like they let their guards down for a brief moment and let people in, they don’t mind sharing their joy or sadness. It’s not always a joyful conversation, I did hear about a young woman who is spending most of her Thanksgiving in the hospital with an ailing parent, that’s life, there is joy and there is sadness, there is this moment.

talking

I just had these few thoughts before our Thanksgiving dinner and was wondering what everyone else is up too? It’s a time for families to get together and share a day of turkey or tofurkey, enjoy their time with one another, and just enjoying the moment.


I am thankful for having the time to prepare a great dinner for family and friends. When are you having turkey dinner this weekend? What are you thankful for?

Until next time, keep on typing….

women

Leave a Reply

